Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Tee Dee Frustration

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Tee Dee Frustration

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2015, 10:03 PM
CLBetten
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tee Dee Frustration

I have started flying 1/2 A control line after a few years. I have a lot of experience but I have a problem I can't seem to beat. I have an .051 that sings a fairly rich 22,000 on a 6X3 prop. It's connected to a Perfect tank level to the spraybar. I have the pickup in the tank oriented to the bottom right corner. On the ground it will run the tank empty in almost any attitude. I have a super fine needle set on it. No matter how I tune it as soon as I launch it it quits instantly. Two feet from my hand. I can have it blubbering rich, doing a perfect 2-4-2 break, or nearly peaked. As soon as I launch it it quits like someone flipped a switch. Any ideas?
Old 03-31-2015, 01:13 AM
Pond Skipper

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Can you post a pic of the set up?
Old 03-31-2015, 06:17 AM
aspeed

Sometimes it works best if the pickup in the tank is about 1/4" from the back so it doesn't richen on acceleration. Might be worth a try. Could also be a large venturi. They are kind of fiddly without pressure, if that is the setup you are using. It could be from the tank being outboard or inboard too much, but I doubt that is the problem if it only goes two feet.
Old 03-31-2015, 09:20 AM
small_rcer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post