Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

Official Losi Micro SCT Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 09:34 PM
dumhuve

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official Losi Micro SCT Thread

Drive on a NiMh when there's lipo ha ha...
You won't believe the difference.
You go from a sluggish car to doughnuts and almost popping wheelis (on 3s)
2s is probably the best alround power however, more manageble.
Old 11-22-2012, 01:00 PM
Munt

Hi everyone. I just bought a new Brushless Micro SCT out the box, no upgrades yet, and im super excited about it. Im relatively new to RC cars so I probably have a few questions....

I plan on upgrading from the stock batteries to LiPo batteries. I understand I will need a charger with the new battery, so do i buy the battery+charger combo from amazon for like $42? I hear people getting lipo batteries for under $10... But if I do that, I will need charger with that. So are all lipo batteries compatible with the charger or does it matter based on brand, or something? Any reccomendation on where to buy my lipo battery/charger?

Also, people say that the lipo battery causes motor to overheat and melt the pinion, but does that still happen on the Brushless motor?

And also, is it a bad idea to buy multiple battery packs to use on the go or will that put too much strain on the motor? I was thinking If I could use the stock NiMH battery and once thats finished switch it out immediately with my soo-to-be new set of lipo batteries to keep running the truck.

I think thats all. LiPo batteries will be my biggest and main upgrade to my crushless SCT, and if anyone has any general advice please post
I am also very concerned with the long term maintenance of my truck. I love to have fun with it but I will do whatever it takes to keep it out of harms way.

Old 11-22-2012, 09:19 PM
DieHarder

Hi there Munt!