Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

Need some good advice on an RC18

Old 08-05-2011, 12:44 PM
RCJuice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some good advice on an RC18

OK, so I'm a harcdore nitro guy, and I really like building high speed cars (working on a wicked big block Jato right now). I've decided that I want an electric so I can play in front of my house without pissing off my neighbors in between trips to the warehouse lots to run my nitros. I've decided that I want an RC18T and I have a few questions I was hoping somebody could answer for me.

FIrst off, I am not 100% new to electrics but I have limited knowledge. I am looking to build a high speed run car and am interested in the best motor/ESC combo for top speed. I have spent hours online reading and going through several pages on the RC18 thread and my head is spinning. I definitely realize that simply having higher KV's doesn't translate into more speed/power, but I am not familiar enough with what motors and ESC's are good. I'm leaning towards a Mamba Micro ESC, but don't know for sure and am not sure about the motor.

Also, for the car itself. If I could find a nice used setup I'd go for it, but I really like starting out with a new car. Is everything on the brushed 2.4 ghz car the same as the brushless 2.4ghz car besides the motor and ESC? I figure if I'm getting rid of the stock electronics it doesn't matter.

Thanks in advance guys.

Old 08-05-2011, 01:57 PM
rc18junky

Default RE: Need some good advice on an RC18