Community
Search
Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

RC Newb needs some advice...

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007, 02:01 PM
derivation

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Newb needs some advice...

I'm an RC newb, never had a real car and always wanted one so my one said I could get one for Christmas as a gift from her. I read a lot of the posts in the forum, particularly the 'so you want a mini....' which I found very helpful. I just had a couple more questions.

First, the budge is $100, so that limits my options a bit. I really liked the vendetta, but that appears to be out of the price range. I want a car primarily for bashing around and making some jumps with. Really just something to fool around with in my spare time and see if the hobby is something for me.

I was thinking about getting one of the master radlines, but I'm worried that the weird size 1/24 would make it hard to find parts. On the other hand, it's price means I could get a few upgrades so I could tinker around with it a bit.

Do you guys have any suggestions for a different car? Think a radline would be ok?

Old 12-05-2007, 03:36 PM
calvino

Default RE: RC Newb needs some advice...

um, maybe an RC18 (T, MT, B), the only drawbacks are the diff gears die easily, and the shocks leak oil[], BTW, welcome to RCU
Old 12-05-2007, 03:45 PM
scheibler

with $100 I would only recommend the losi mini t or the losi micro t.

Micro-T-you can also get the micro baja which comes with a beetle body
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/9857

Pros-
very fast for its size
cheap
easy to find parts for
upgrades are fairly cheap

Cons-
hair tends to get caught in the tires
limited to inside or on road use
e-clips hold the wheels on(15 dollar upgrade will fix this)
short run times unless you buy a lipo battery which runs about $50

Mini-T
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/8549

Pros-