1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

do you have to break in a brushless motor?

Reply
Old 03-08-2008, 03:39 PM
  #1
Deftones123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default do you have to break in a brushless motor?

just got my mamba in and I was wondering do I have to do a break in for it like brushed motors or can I just plug and play lol
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 03:45 PM
  #2
rschoi_75
 
rschoi_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: do you have to break in a brushless motor?

no break in required.
rschoi_75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 03:55 PM
  #3
Frozen72
 
Frozen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 3,188
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: do you have to break in a brushless motor?

I would just run it slow for about 30 seconds to make sure there are no problems. Then have fun.
Frozen72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 05:56 PM
  #4
micronn
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: , WA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: do you have to break in a brushless motor?

No need to break in a brushless motor. The reason you should break in a brushed motor is because you want the brushes to wear smoothly to the commutator so they provide the best contact which maximizes its efficiency and also helps prevents premature wear. A brushless motor does not have brushes to wear in like the brush motor. Highly unlikely, but if their were anything at all on a brushless motor, it would be the bearings would need to be broken in, but I can't imagine that being necessary since the bearings are precisely machined and everything should already fit nicely. So, don't worry about breaking in a brushless motor.
micronn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 06:14 PM
  #5
Deftones123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: do you have to break in a brushless motor?

thanks alot for the help
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:17 AM.