Community
Search
Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

Do diffs come loose on there own?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 11:28 PM
westphill24

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do diffs come loose on there own?

I have a mamba sidewinder, 6800kv motor and a new 2cell lipo and my 18t diffs seem to keep loosening up on me. I was just wondering what if anything am I doing wrong or are the diffs just gone? I just rebuilt them a couple months ago but besides some donuts in the house I havent really run it. I have 3 shims on front and back which helped before but I heard 3 should be the max needed.

Also do lipos wake up after charging/discharging a few times because these are only a tad better than my elite 1500's? These are brand new first run lipos.
Old 03-31-2009, 12:35 AM
sonicj
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Do diffs come loose on there own?

i've heard of a break-in period for lipos, but it involves not discharging completely the first few cycles. they should be bangin' if new & charged! what pack did you get? does your charger tell you voltage on each cell?

do rc18 diffs have a lock nut on the other side or do they screw into plastic? either way, you can use loctite. if its plastic, make sure its loctite for plastic. i used a little CA on my pro-pulse diffs after the plastic started to strip and it worked OK. im having a hard time visualizing it in my head, but i think if you flip the diffs, the direction of rotation changes so that the screw is tightened as you drive vs loosened. i might not be right though...

diffs slipping will feel like little to no increase in power over your nimh packs. be careful if they are slipping! it doesn't take much slip before the heat starts melting plastic!
Old 04-04-2009, 09:43 PM
Metallover

You could try loctite or maybe ca glue to keep the diffs from slipping. I'm assuming you're talking about ball diffs.