Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Norvel .061 smallest and largest prop sizes?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Norvel .061 smallest and largest prop sizes?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 08:38 AM
BriKali

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Norvel .061 smallest and largest prop sizes?

Hello,

This is my first time posting. Ihave a few questions about my Novel Big Mig .061 Revlite. Here'sa littlebackground: I have notput it ina plane; Iam only running it on abench; basically Iamperforming dyno tests; I am using 15% nitro fuel. Here are my questions:

1) What is the smallest prop I could use without over-revving the engine?
2) What is the largest prop Icould use without lugging the engine at too low of an rpm?
3) Would a 4.75" x 4" prop be too small? Would a 7" x 4" prop be too big?

I'm not concerned about whether any given size prop would make a plane fly well.My sole purpose in usingdifferent size props is to put different loads on the engine. Basically, Ijust want to make sure I don't ruin my engine

Thanks!
Brian
Old 01-08-2011, 09:15 AM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Norvel .061 smallest and largest prop sizes?

The 4.75x4 is actually more prop than a 5x3. The 5x3 is a very good working prop all around.
The 6x3 is the biggest you should run. Running larger invites overheating and advanced crankcase/parts wear.
If you have a speedy design with 150 square inches or less and fairly light, the 4.2x4 is a good prop. The 4 pitch will get your plane up to 100 mph if everything is working well together.

A lot of flyers like the 5.7x3 the most, but they are easy to break. I like the black rubber Cox 5x3 for general use. 1 if these props will last for years.