"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Reply
Old 07-28-2012, 05:42 PM
  #1
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Long story short. I destroyed my several year old HOB Spacewalker at the field Friday am, flew out of range of the park fly Rx, tho I'd flown it for years. Everything checked OK on the ground, except for the aileron servo with stripped gears.

Anyway, my OS Max needs a P/N 21181019 Carb Complete to get back in the air. Does anyone have an idea as to a source for this? The body broke at the mounting screws, but otherwise looks OK. The body is not shown separately in the parts list I have that came with the engine.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:42 AM
  #2
AMB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: winter park, FL
Posts: 6,748
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

John you may be able to use an OS10LA carb needle o nback, throttle body on front martin
AMB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:15 PM
  #3
ffkiwi
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Upper HuttWellington, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 1,521
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

I think you'll find a Thunder Tiger 10 or Magnum 10 carb will be a 1:1 replacement. I found both listed on a casual ebay search yesterday.

ChrisM
'ffkiwi'
ffkiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:23 PM
  #4
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Thanks for the responses. I'll check on e-bay for a TT ot Magnum carb. Thinking last night, I may be able to CA glue the bottom of the carb back on, and retap the mounting screws as a fallback position. This could be kinda weak tho...

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:38 PM
  #5
Max_Power
 
Max_Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Can you show a picture of where you broke? You sure dont want to glue something back together with the potential to break again and let debris enter the engine. If its just the retaining bolts broken post a picture and someone likely can help you with a alternate carb retention method if you aren't wanting to buy the LA or TT carb. Don't step over a dollar to pick up a dime and end up with a destroyed engine. Todd
Max_Power is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:11 PM
  #6
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

The carb broke through the threaded mounting holes of the spigot (part that inserts into the open venturi to make an R/C engine). Here's a pic looking down at the failed surface:

Preview does not support attachments, hope this comes across OK.

John C
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40475.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	1787271  
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:20 PM
  #7
fritzke
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crystal, MN
Posts: 1,290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXAPFK&P=7
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Eb86694.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	1787332  
fritzke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:34 PM
  #8
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Any idea as to the spigot diameter? The OS Max is 8.5 mm as best I can measure.

Thanks,

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:02 PM
  #9
Toysareforkids
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Deer Lodge, TN
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Is this the same carb?
I do have a couple of OS 10 FSR's NIB that I can pull out and check it with, but I'll have to wait till tomorrow to do so. I have this carb I got from someone else awhile back, and am not using, if it fit's. I the OD bore is .356 & the ID is .220. these are the base bores.

Pat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75472.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	1787390   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48168.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	34.9 KB
ID:	1787391  
Toysareforkids is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:23 PM
  #10
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Carb certainly looks similar. My measurements are a bit different from what you show. My spigot ID is .209 and OD is .334, which equals the 8.5 mm above. I'd appreciate your checking a carb from your FSR versus these numbers.

Thanks,

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:35 PM
  #11
Toysareforkids
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Deer Lodge, TN
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Well, not good!
My OS .10 FSR is the same size as yous is. The one I have is the same as the one on my OS .20 . If I remember right I got it to fit a OS .15 I had, and sold this pastspring without a carb, because I couldn't find it.

Pat

Toysareforkids is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:27 PM
  #12
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Thanks for checking! I've got a name of a hobby shop that may specialize in older OS Max engines. I'll give them a try. Carb is disassembled for cleaning and then I'll try the CA fix.

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:32 PM
  #13
mkoe
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

PM sent, Don't try the CA fix. It can be repaired if you can't find one, if you don't try and glue it.

I TIG weld parts like this and then remachine them. I repair crankcases and mufflers on a regular basis that have been crashed. I have also done carb throats, but it needs to be as clean as possible and the glue MUCKS up the alloy and more has to be removed to get a good weld.
Mike
mkoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:30 AM
  #14
John C
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: OS Max 10 FSR Carb Needed

Just an update. I bought the Thunder Tiger carb suggested in post seven by fritzke. It slips right in the crankcase bore, but does not have the threaded mounting screw holes [:@]. The threads are an unusual metric size, very close to a US 6X32 (they will thread several turns before locking up).

As my son is a toolmaker, my plan now is to ship the carb off to him with some 6X32 screws and let him drill and tap the mounting holes (location is scribed on the carb). He can do it much more accurately than I can. This won't happen until after Thanksgiving tho as I won't be home until then.

If the engine runs well with the new carb, the ultimate plan is to build a BMJR 1/2 scale Taurus (36" span) for this engine. A full scale Taurus was my first R/C plane in 1969 (and lasted six flights with my personally built Heathkit GD-19 radio).

John C
John C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 PM.