Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 18 of 18

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    How to fasten servos?

    I'm currently building a ZaunkΓΆnig from http://www.fiberplanes.de/ (yes, a mini-review will come when (if?) I get her in the air) . I'm planning on using a throttled Surestart for power and two 9 gram servos for aileron and elevator, and a 5 gram servo for throttle. When using standard servos there are those brass tubes and rubber "things" (I can't remember their names in English) for the screws. Is something similair necessary for small servos on a 1/2A-powered plane?

    /Stefan

  2. #2
    skaliwag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    santa cruz, CA
    Posts
    2,364
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    The Rubber thingees are Grommets and the brass part is a Thimble.

    I am using Double sided tape for my small models. Just sticking them to the sides . 3M Scotch Foam Mounting Double-Sided Tape MMM #4011. It's the red one

    A friend has started to glue his in with cheap painters caulk or bathroom tile sealant.
    Real Airplanes have Round Engines and Two Wings.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Thanks. Tape makes things a lot easier.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Angleton, TX
    Posts
    1,797
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    I've used the good red 3M tape as well. Cheaper substitutes may not hold it long term. The only downside is trying to dig it back out if/when the servo fails.

    When mounting them to balsa, I first make a "pad" out of thick CA glue cured with accelerator.
    Tee Bee

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, SWEDEN
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?


    ORIGINAL: Tee Bee
    When mounting them to balsa, I first make a ''pad'' out of thick CA glue cured with accelerator.
    That was a good tip! Thanks a lot.

  6. #6
    MJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orangeville, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    6,610
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    I clean the servo cases with alcohol, then apply a piece of double sided tape and work it into the surface well with my thumb while the release paper is still on the opposite side. Then when I attach it, I peel the release paper, give the fuse side (or whereever I am mounting it) a very light mist of CA kicker, and apply a thin layer of CA to the tape surface before sticking the servo in place. Seems to stick pretty aggressively, but I am sure other methods work well too.
    Sorry I'm late dear, I had to help my uncle Jack off his horse.

  7. #7
    Mr Cox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Karlstad, SWEDEN
    Posts
    3,113
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    I screw mine in place, it can't get much simpler than that and it is easy to disassembled. For the throttle servo one can use a bit of soft rubber between the servo and the wood (it will not be a proper mount, but better than no rubber at all).

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jh14635.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	73.9 KB 
ID:	1833930  

  8. #8
    MJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orangeville, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    6,610
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    I only tape mount when the situation calls for it. Otherwise I'm happy with screw mounting as well.
    Sorry I'm late dear, I had to help my uncle Jack off his horse.

  9. #9
    combatpigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    arlington, WA
    Posts
    17,684
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Squishing the servo into a pile of Shoe Goop does a good job too. Like other's have said, the bare balsa wood mounting surface should be primed with thin CA first.
    WHO GUNNA FEED MAW KEEEIDS..???

  10. #10
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,818
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    CP, I used to do Goop too, especially in foam. However I noticed that there was a lot of strange corrosion going on after a year or so. Since then I wrap masking tape around the servo case and pot the servo with gorrilla glue. GG holds it firmly in place and the tape allows me to remove the servo cleanly later on if I need to. Best part is the strange corrosion disappeared.

    I didn't see the plane the OP listed on the website link. Everything in that site looked a bit big for 1/2a
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  11. #11
    Mr Cox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Karlstad, SWEDEN
    Posts
    3,113
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Try here; [link]http://www.fiberplanes.de/cnc.htm[/link]


  12. #12
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,818
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Thats much better!
    They look pretty nice.
    Back to the OP though, I think screws would be the best option.
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    96
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    I prefer screws. It gives a nice, clean installation that is easy to live with. If you ever need to remove the for maintenance or replacement, you'll be happy. I usually go with two rails crossing the fuselage, resting on a couple longitudinal pieces against the fuselage sides. The rails look a little beefy in the picture, but it's a pretty tiny plane (M.A.N. Microjet II)

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo40140.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	1834432  

  14. #14
    combatpigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    arlington, WA
    Posts
    17,684
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?


    ORIGINAL: vicman

    CP, I used to do Goop too, especially in foam. However I noticed that there was a lot of strange corrosion going on after a year or so. Since then I wrap masking tape around the servo case and pot the servo with gorrilla glue. GG holds it firmly in place and the tape allows me to remove the servo cleanly later on if I need to. Best part is the strange corrosion disappeared.

    I didn't see the plane the OP listed on the website link. Everything in that site looked a bit big for 1/2a
    I better let Tom Strom know about this corosion..! He's the one who gave me the tip about gluing servos into Q40's to give them the best isolation from vibration. I can see how GG would work well too.
    WHO GUNNA FEED MAW KEEEIDS..???

  15. #15
    vicman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Valdese, NC
    Posts
    9,818
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Goop works great for putting servo trays into a Q40
    A guy who used to live on this site and now is rarely here due to the "upgrade".
    Most likely fading away till the My Forums is fixed. Too bad.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    7,176
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    When I use double sided tape I also use a small stick of balsa wedged in slightly from the other side of the frame, I glue the frame side but not the servo side...Rog
    Ever walk into a room and forget what you went in for?...ADHD, welcome to my world,it happens everyday!

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Williston, FL
    Posts
    646
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    My opinion (which may not be worth much) is to NEVER use tape of any kind to attach servos. Although they usually stick very well to the plastic servo case, they often don't stick good enough or at all to the wood frames you are trying to stick them on. 1/2a airframes don't cost much and build up easy, but do you still want to chance destroying an airframe because you used double sided tape to attach a 12.00 servo?

    I have found that goop or shoe-goo works very well, and it is true "a little dab will do ya" I glue the servos in place. Shoe-goo can usually be removed if needed (though its not always easy) but you never have to worry about it coming off!

    Simply put a small drop on the side of the servo case and smush it on wherever it needs to go, the goop will spread out and squeeze out from around the edges making a super good bond, and it weighs less than trying to use those grommets and thimbles- (probably a bit more than double sided tape though)

    L.R. [8D]
    Hey Ya\'ll, watch this!!!!!

  18. #18
    Mr Cox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Karlstad, SWEDEN
    Posts
    3,113
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to fasten servos?

    Is Shoe-goo the same as Liquid-sole?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.