"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

How to fasten servos?

Reply
Old 12-26-2012, 06:33 AM
  #1
SBS_Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How to fasten servos?

I'm currently building a Zaunk├Ânig from http://www.fiberplanes.de/ (yes, a mini-review will come when (if?) I get her in the air) . I'm planning on using a throttled Surestart for power and two 9 gram servos for aileron and elevator, and a 5 gram servo for throttle. When using standard servos there are those brass tubes and rubber "things" (I can't remember their names in English) for the screws. Is something similair necessary for small servos on a 1/2A-powered plane?

/Stefan
SBS_Pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:53 AM
  #2
skaliwag
 
skaliwag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: santa cruz, CA
Posts: 2,434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

The Rubber thingees are Grommets and the brass part is a Thimble.

I am using Double sided tape for my small models. Just sticking them to the sides . 3M Scotch Foam Mounting Double-Sided Tape MMM #4011. It's the red one

A friend has started to glue his in with cheap painters caulk or bathroom tile sealant.
skaliwag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:41 AM
  #3
SBS_Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Thanks. Tape makes things a lot easier.
SBS_Pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:54 AM
  #4
Tee Bee
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Angleton, TX
Posts: 1,883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

I've used the good red 3M tape as well. Cheaper substitutes may not hold it long term. The only downside is trying to dig it back out if/when the servo fails.

When mounting them to balsa, I first make a "pad" out of thick CA glue cured with accelerator.
Tee Bee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:18 AM
  #5
SBS_Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Tee Bee
When mounting them to balsa, I first make a ''pad'' out of thick CA glue cured with accelerator.
That was a good tip! Thanks a lot.
SBS_Pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:07 AM
  #6
MJD
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

I clean the servo cases with alcohol, then apply a piece of double sided tape and work it into the surface well with my thumb while the release paper is still on the opposite side. Then when I attach it, I peel the release paper, give the fuse side (or whereever I am mounting it) a very light mist of CA kicker, and apply a thin layer of CA to the tape surface before sticking the servo in place. Seems to stick pretty aggressively, but I am sure other methods work well too.
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:16 AM
  #7
Mr Cox
 
Mr Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Karlstad, SWEDEN
Posts: 3,694
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

I screw mine in place, it can't get much simpler than that and it is easy to disassembled. For the throttle servo one can use a bit of soft rubber between the servo and the wood (it will not be a proper mount, but better than no rubber at all).

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14635.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	1833930  
Mr Cox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:24 AM
  #8
MJD
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

I only tape mount when the situation calls for it. Otherwise I'm happy with screw mounting as well.
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:51 AM
  #9
combatpigg
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Squishing the servo into a pile of Shoe Goop does a good job too. Like other's have said, the bare balsa wood mounting surface should be primed with thin CA first.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:06 PM
  #10
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

CP, I used to do Goop too, especially in foam. However I noticed that there was a lot of strange corrosion going on after a year or so. Since then I wrap masking tape around the servo case and pot the servo with gorrilla glue. GG holds it firmly in place and the tape allows me to remove the servo cleanly later on if I need to. Best part is the strange corrosion disappeared.

I didn't see the plane the OP listed on the website link. Everything in that site looked a bit big for 1/2a
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:16 PM
  #11
Mr Cox
 
Mr Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Karlstad, SWEDEN
Posts: 3,694
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Try here; [link]http://www.fiberplanes.de/cnc.htm[/link]

Mr Cox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:29 AM
  #12
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Thats much better!
They look pretty nice.
Back to the OP though, I think screws would be the best option.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:57 PM
  #13
icegs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

I prefer screws. It gives a nice, clean installation that is easy to live with. If you ever need to remove the for maintenance or replacement, you'll be happy. I usually go with two rails crossing the fuselage, resting on a couple longitudinal pieces against the fuselage sides. The rails look a little beefy in the picture, but it's a pretty tiny plane (M.A.N. Microjet II)

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40140.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	1834432  
icegs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 12:00 AM
  #14
combatpigg
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: vicman

CP, I used to do Goop too, especially in foam. However I noticed that there was a lot of strange corrosion going on after a year or so. Since then I wrap masking tape around the servo case and pot the servo with gorrilla glue. GG holds it firmly in place and the tape allows me to remove the servo cleanly later on if I need to. Best part is the strange corrosion disappeared.

I didn't see the plane the OP listed on the website link. Everything in that site looked a bit big for 1/2a
I better let Tom Strom know about this corosion..! He's the one who gave me the tip about gluing servos into Q40's to give them the best isolation from vibration. I can see how GG would work well too.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:44 AM
  #15
vicman
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,907
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Goop works great for putting servo trays into a Q40
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:34 AM
  #16
flyinrog
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 7,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

When I use double sided tape I also use a small stick of balsa wedged in slightly from the other side of the frame, I glue the frame side but not the servo side...Rog
flyinrog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:09 AM
  #17
LoneRanger
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Williston, FL
Posts: 646
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

My opinion (which may not be worth much) is to NEVER use tape of any kind to attach servos. Although they usually stick very well to the plastic servo case, they often don't stick good enough or at all to the wood frames you are trying to stick them on. 1/2a airframes don't cost much and build up easy, but do you still want to chance destroying an airframe because you used double sided tape to attach a 12.00 servo?

I have found that goop or shoe-goo works very well, and it is true "a little dab will do ya" I glue the servos in place. Shoe-goo can usually be removed if needed (though its not always easy) but you never have to worry about it coming off!

Simply put a small drop on the side of the servo case and smush it on wherever it needs to go, the goop will spread out and squeeze out from around the edges making a super good bond, and it weighs less than trying to use those grommets and thimbles- (probably a bit more than double sided tape though)

L.R. [8D]
LoneRanger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:52 AM
  #18
Mr Cox
 
Mr Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Karlstad, SWEDEN
Posts: 3,694
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to fasten servos?

Is Shoe-goo the same as Liquid-sole?
Mr Cox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:33 AM.