"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

1/2A cox Killer Bee Valve ?

Reply
Old 11-19-2013, 05:17 PM
  #1
thomasrpp
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1/2A cox Killer Bee Valve ?

I was cleaning my 1/2 Cox Killer Bee and noticed it has 3 reeds, was this an acccident when assembling or are there supposed to have 3?

Last edited by thomasrpp; 11-19-2013 at 05:18 PM. Reason: spelling
thomasrpp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:00 PM
  #2
combatpigg
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

WOW!
Run it like that and get a reading. Use a 5x3 prop.
Then subtract just 1 reed and run it again....see if the RPM improves or not.
Of course, by this time you should be able to make an educated guess as to what running just the single reed will do for performance.
The KillerBee reed can oscillate at upwards of 400 times per second, so the added mass of the extra reeds might behave like a RPM limiter...?
If there was a manfacturing error and the space between the retainer clip and the reed is to great, then the reed might tend to flutter...so the assembler might have stacked additional reeds to establish a "blueprint" gap..?
Please keep us informed.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 12:13 PM
  #3
thomasrpp
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Alright, I will remember that the next time I do a start up.
thomasrpp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 06:20 AM
  #4
aspeed
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I kind of remember using 2 reed valves when I was a kid. Never heard of three. I would think it would block the mixture from going through if there are too many. Tach readings are good.. Wish I had a tach when I was younger.
aspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:11 PM.