Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 13 of 13

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    lenoir, NC, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
    Posts
    162
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    transmitter batteries

    hello everyone im needing to replace my transmitter batteries. the manual say to use 9.6v 600 mah. can i use 9.6v 2500mah. i know nothing about batteries
    james ward

  2. #2
    flyinwalenda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northeast, PA
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    If it will fit in the case it won't be a problem. 9.6 volts is 9.6 volts, A 2500 mah pack can produce more amperage than a 600mah pack but that's not an issue as the transmitter will only draw a specific amount and no more(unless there is a problem like an electrical short inside). So a 2500 mah pack will run longer between charges than the 600.
    Brian Ray

  3. #3
    MJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orangeville, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    6,682
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yes. If the voltage is the same you are good to go. It does not matter how large the battery is if the voltage is correct - it will just run longer.
    Sorry I'm late dear, I had to help my uncle Jack off his horse.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    winter park, FL
    Posts
    6,728
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    just make sure you have you have the right charger sounds like you went from a a NiCad to NiMH to get the big increase in miliamps martin

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    You can also use a LiFe battery.
    DO NOT use a Lipo battery.
    There is a big difference, I have a burned out transmitter that used a lipo, voltage is just too high.

    bo

  6. #6
    Moderator BMatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11,995
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    If the new one will fit in the case you can use it. If the new one is one of the more exotic chemistry cells then you will want to use the appropriate charger. The simple wall wart style charger can only be used with nickel cadmium or nickel metal hydride.

    Anything with lithium as part of the chemical system needs to use a fancy charger to allow proper charging without damage to the pack.


    Assuming that this is a Nimh pack and again assuming that you want to use the old wall wart charger that came with the set keep in mind that it was set up to charge up a 600mah pack overnight. So the charge rate will be too low to charge a 2500mah pack to full charge in that same amount of time. Instead you'll want to leave the charger connected for a good 48 hours at a time to ensure you get up to somewhere close to a full charge.
    Last edited by BMatthews; 03-02-2014 at 10:34 AM.
    Witty saying to be plagarized shortly.....

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Good point.
    You MUST use a proper LiFe charger.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    4,640
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    All that matters are the batteries are the same size and you end up with the same voltage. I just put a 2500 mAh battery in my Devo 10. It's actually smaller than the 8-cell battery holder that comes with the transmitter.

    So yes, you can. Just make sure you have a charger that can actually charge a battery with that much capacity. A wall-wart that comes with any radio will take ages to fully charge that pack.
    Work is what I do for the love of it. A job is how I pay for it.
    Please visit AirfieldModels.com

  9. #9
    MJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Orangeville, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    6,682
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by boberos View Post
    You can also use a LiFe battery.
    DO NOT use a Lipo battery.
    There is a big difference, I have a burned out transmitter that used a lipo, voltage is just too high.
    bo
    What did you use, 3 cell?
    Sorry I'm late dear, I had to help my uncle Jack off his horse.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    peterborough, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Yes a 3S Lipo burned out a component in my Futaba 8U Tx.
    Tony at 'Radio South' was able to repair it.

  11. #11
    hogflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    2,028
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Also remember that if you use a LiFe, besides a charger that will charge LiFe batteries, make sure it will do a balanced charge. Even though it's a 2-cell battery, like a LiPo, it still should be properly balanced charged.

    Hogflyer
    President and Flight Training Coordinator - Wichita Radio Control Club - AMA Intro Pilot
    www.wichitaradiocontrolclub.org AMA 47317
    Sig Brotherhood #85
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood # 139

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    2,604
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    also - if you do use a LiFe or LiPo battery, don't do something stupid like I did and leave your TX on. Over discharging a lithium battery can ruin it.
    No matter where you go, there you are!

  13. #13
    flyinwalenda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northeast, PA
    Posts
    2,341
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by fizzwater2 View Post
    also - if you do use a LiFe or LiPo battery, don't do something stupid like I did and leave your TX on. Over discharging a lithium battery can ruin it.
    I did that a few times in 5 years already BUT I was able to safely restore the packs . I did it early on when I installed LiPo packs and the first time I thought it was finished. I figured out a way to recharge it from the dead and it worked and has worked on other packs also. They don't come back 100% but all of the transmitter packs that came back are still useable today.
    Brian Ray


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.