Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

G-mark .061 prop question

Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

G-mark .061 prop question

Old 04-04-2019, 10:54 AM
ffkiwi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by mwohlenhaus
Are yo still talking an .061 here? I am new to IC tuning/setup for air use, but that seems small for what is reccomended by the manufacturer as a 6X3 prop. But keep me posted with video/pics when you get everything in.

Quite right-but I suspect Pondskipper is referring to the .03 G-Mark.....but a 1K increase in either of them is a respectable goal and if achieved puts both of them right into TD territory.....which with their already excellent throttling, makes them rather useful... A 4.5x2 is a good match for the 03 ...which came with a 115x50 mm prop if purchased NIB......but a 4.5x2 on the 061 would result in a lot of noise......for a very short time...followed by a bang as the rod let go....

ChrisM
'ffkiwi'
Old 04-04-2019, 06:47 PM
Pond Skipper

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Here it is gents was referring to the GM-.030
Radial mount for more contact area to the firewall while still keeping a small foot print.
Turbo plug head with 3 cooling fins big plus over the stock plug. Have not ran it just
assembled at this point. Note the pressure tap on the muffler. The engine has SPI
I want to test it open exhaust to compare directly to the TD .020 in those regards.
Note the plug on the left was not producing enough compression once the engine
was warmed up. The new version is on the right with the extra 3rd cooling fin. These
engines run hot anything to help keep them cool should allow a leaner NV and more
rpm.

Last edited by Pond Skipper; 04-04-2019 at 06:51 PM.
Old 04-04-2019, 07:04 PM
Pond Skipper

Here is a weight check could go without the starter spring to save more weight.