Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Discovered CAD

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2005, 09:13 PM
vauxhall

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Discovered CAD

I installed a free CAD program so I could print a Spitfire plan in DXF from the Profili site. I thought I'd learn to use it and do my own design. Took me a while to figure it all out, but here's the plan, which I put onto a CD-R as a HPGL file, took to the local printer and got a full size copy done yesterday. Not bad for an "old bloke". CAD is fantastic..how long has this been going on?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88847.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	308128  
Old 08-09-2005, 09:23 PM
Quicksdraw MaGraw
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Discovered CAD

Nice work. I'm just getting started as well. I hope I pick it up as quickly as you.
Old 08-09-2005, 10:10 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Cute and well done. Your main gear is too far back though. Put it about 1/2 inch behind your expected CG position.

Don't know if you've seen it but check out my "Uncle Bruce's Bakers Dozen CAD hints" in post number 3 of [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_1941845/tm.htm]THIS THREAD[/link] . It's aimed at TurboCAD users but the ideas are applicable to any CAD type. I tried to rank my learning from most to least important. Using those 13 hints has allowed me to do all but a quick doodle faster in CAD than with pencil and paper.

It's quite the revelation though ain't it...
Old 08-10-2005, 01:19 AM
vauxhall

Hi Bruce, your thread was very helpful, as I'm still discovering more about CAD all the time. I have noted your suggestion re the U/C. ..........John
Old 08-10-2005, 05:06 AM
vauxhall

How's this Boss? .........John
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37742.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	308251  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:08 AM
D Bronk