Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Newbie reaching out for guidance.

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Newbie reaching out for guidance.

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2005, 04:57 PM
flybug

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie reaching out for guidance.

Hi all,

I've been reading the recent posts for the past days throughout the forum and figured this is where I want to start; reason being is of the small planes. I am totally new to RC and came across it the other day when someone was flying his plane for the last time (going through a bad divorce). After he landed the plane, I approached him and asked him about the sport. Long story short, by the end of our conversation I walked away with a Hitec Prism 7X TX, a RCD Supreme super slim RX, with 1800mah 6.0v batteries, an OS MAX 40 FP, 4 props, 4 servos, wall charger, switch harness, servo extension, and 2 brand new COX Surestart engines (still in the UPS box). He basically stripped his plane and sold these things for $95.00. He gave the plane to his friend. So here I stand totally in love with this sport just by watching him that evening, with this equipment, and yet I do not know anything about it. Most of what I read here is like a foreign language to me. Any way if at all possible can you guys/gals stare me in the right direction on how to start right. I read that is best to start from scratch because not only you get the satisfaction of building your plane (and hoping it flies), but you learn the different parts while building which makes the repair process a lot easier. Can you recommend one of the available plans around here for a plane that meets the 1/2A requirements, guide me in selecting the materials, tools (basic), and sources of these in order for me to complete the project as well as to care for the OS 40 since he ran it dry but I am sure I should do something to it befor