Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

APC Props

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2006, 12:41 PM
propbuster
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default APC Props

Hi Guys, I was looking for 1/2a props at my LHS today and all they had was a couple of APC "sport" 6x3's. I've never used them before and was wondering what you guys thought of them. Thanks
Attached Images  
Old 05-27-2006, 01:07 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: APC Props

They are excellent, fragile, but excellent. I don't see them very often at the LHS, usually all I see are MAS, which are also very good.
Old 05-27-2006, 01:08 PM
Bipe Flyer

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

I like the APC props better than any other brand. They let the engine spin up more, are better balanced and don't flex as much. I use them from 4.5" on my .020s to 16" on my Saito 1.00 and everything in-between.
Old 05-27-2006, 01:15 PM
Andrew

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Prop --

My experience, but YMMV -- others may have had different performance. They wind up more than a MA, probably due to the lower blade area and since they're stiff, they don't de-pitch at high RPM. They give better speed on light slick planes than the MA, but don't seem to do as well on heavier, draggy airframes. I tend to break more APC's -- if the prop is not horizontal on landing, you can easily break a blade.

Due to the large mounting hole, you will have to use a piece of fuel tubing on the prop shaft to keep the prop centered until you get it tightened down.

They will slice and dice and can turn your finger into dogmeat in a hurry.
Old 05-27-2006, 01:24 PM
Bipe Flyer

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Good things to point out, Andrew. I needed five stitches after an incident with an APC prop on a Norvel .074.

There's only one size that I've found where I prefer the MA to the APC and that's a 7X3.
Old 05-27-2006, 01:27 PM
propbuster