Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Norvel BigMig .061 beginner questions - plugs, shims and what's in the box?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Norvel BigMig .061 beginner questions - plugs, shims and what's in the box?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2003, 12:40 PM
Scully

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Norvel BigMig .061 beginner questions - plugs, shims and what's in the box?

Hi all,

I hope these questions are appropriate here.

All about Norvel BigMig 0.061 setup:

( I am buying two (CL and RC) and would really like to clarify some details - I read everything on the Norvel site, but still confused!)

I am a beginner so this is about general RC setup (not competition):

1) I do not need muffler pressure for BigMig to work well (as opposed to AME) - true or false - or sometimes? What most people do?

2) Will it work well with 10% nitro in reality (throttled) - I know Norvel site says it will even work with 0%, but most people say 20%+?

3) Plugs - do they come with Freedom XL plugs now? if not - what do I need to use one (a special Freedom XL glow head + FXL plug?).

4)Compression: !!!
most people recommend using 3 shims to lower compression so it lasts longer/easier to start etc... (correct?)

Which shims are these - (under plug or under glow head) and is this for the Freedom XL head+plug?
Now if they do come with Freedom XL when I buy one - do they come with 3 shims (lower compression) when I buy them or do I need to buy them separately. Most model shops do not carry them....

5) The best breaking in technic for them seems to be 'cold' breaking first with head removed and motor oil (like 10-30) and just turn it manually (100 times+). Then glow plug back on with 3 shims and usual rich / half lean cycling.
Any additional hints pls?

6)Extended Norvel tank (1oz) -