Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

1/2A Guru advice needed

Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

1/2A Guru advice needed

Old 10-22-2006, 04:18 PM
Smooth Spanky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1/2A Guru advice needed

As part of my ongoing quest to stretch my r/c plane interests well beyond my time available (or skill), I'm looking to try my hand at 1/2A. I'm thinking this could be my main winter project this year.

Here's more or less what I'm looking for:

- Looking for a kit, not an ARF. My building skill is no better than average.
- Ideal kit would be laser-cut and have interlocking construction used where practical.
- Full house controls. Landing gear for ROG.
- Since I'm new to this, I don't have a motor, but I'm not interested in non-throttled motors.
- Mission of plane will be sport flying - no 3D. I'm thinking something like a warbird (corsair) or a J3 Cub perhaps.
- Looking for something with a fairly robust design (my landings still leave something to be desired occasionally )
- I'm prepared to pay for decent quality

OK, anybody got any tips for me? I'd appreciate any advice at all.

SS
Old 10-22-2006, 06:11 PM
build light

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 1/2A Guru advice needed

Spanky, I will start you off with Herr Models kits. You will find no better Laser interlocking struture that builds strong and light. They have 2 Warbirds in their line. A P 51D Mustang and AT-6 Texan Do a search on the Herr line and you will find only good things said.. The Texan kit. is about $37.00 An awfully good price for what you get.

Robert
Old 10-22-2006, 06:21 PM
flyinrog
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post