Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Covering woes... sigh...

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Covering woes... sigh...

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 08:03 PM
SquirlNutZipper
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Covering woes... sigh...

OK I have to admit, I'm still terrible at covering. I studied the Fine Arts and Industrial Design so you'd figure someone of my background and experience should be compitent at laying down some plastic wrap around a model and have it look somewhat professional. No way!

In fact, most of the time I'd actually rather be at the dentist than covering that sweet build I've just completed.

What is it with the stuff I'm missing? I tack here tack there, stretch here pull there but still I always get these wrinkles and lumpy edge lines.

I could really use some pointers or hands on training.

On a side note does anyone have advice on silk and dope covering? Haven't done it in over twenty years and two models of mine will be needing that treatment shortly.

Much appreciated,

A Very Frustrated Alex.
Old 11-21-2006, 08:43 PM
rainedave
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Covering woes... sigh...

I here you Alex. I've probably only done one or two plastic film jobs in my life that didn't have wrinkles, sags or bubbles. Maybe not at first, but after a few days in the sun they always start to show up for me.

Here's what I did. I quit using iron-on plastic film altogether. I'll never use it again.