Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Covering problem..........

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Covering problem..........

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2003, 02:30 AM
matchlessaero

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Covering problem..........

Began covering the Caudron the other night. I am using 3 colors of my favorite covering material-MoneyCote. I have been using this stuff for better than 15 years with plenty of good success and service.

Unfortunately, I have an issue I can't quite figure out.... While covering, I covered it as usual with a crisscross tightening pattern, tacking it in the corners, pulling tight the edges and sealing them and then shrinking the covering tight through the middle to bring the surface tight. (I must have done this a hundred times before).
After finishing the wing, I came back to it a couple minutes later, and found that the covering had loosened...? Some wrinkles here and there, and some bubbling up in a few areas.....

I have now re-tightened the covering again 6 times (using a heat gun and the iron) and the bottom seems to be staying somewhat tight. The top is not yet staying tight though.

Has anyone had a similar situation?
Old 04-10-2003, 04:58 AM
Bipe Flyer

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

I've noticed this on a couple of planes. On one plane the white would sag while the yellow and metallic plum were fine. Black is bad in the sun for obvious reasons. I mostly use Ultracote now.

Maybe it's a bad roll or you didn't have the wood absolutely clean before you applied the Monokote.
Old 04-10-2003, 05:01 AM
LoneRanger
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

that is a bummer, i would agree, try to remove the whole piece and use a new one, use a tack cloth or something to make sure it's clean~

L.R.
Old 04-10-2003, 09:08 PM
goldguy