Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Servo size

Old 03-25-2008, 02:00 PM
  #1  
Walther
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 538
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo size

What size "torque" servos would you need for ailerons on a 20 oz plane using one per aileron?
Walther is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:29 PM
  #2  
Remby
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Russell, PA
Posts: 804
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

I use the Futaba 3112s for this type of setup. How much power you really need has many factors, the weight of the plane, size, how free the surfaces are,etc. The ones I mentioned have good torque, and are light, quite small, and have been trouble free.

A down side is they are not setup for gas, intended for electric powered aircraft, they have no grommets. However, adding them is easy if you give it some thought, all of mine have grommets in different ways.

Torque of 20oz should be more than enough for any 1/2a alerons setup you can think of.
Remby is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:13 PM
  #3  
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size


ORIGINAL: Remby

I use the Futaba 3112s for this type of setup.
3112? Or did you mean 3114?
Andrew is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:52 AM
  #4  
Remby
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Russell, PA
Posts: 804
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

Andrew;

You are correct, I meant to state 3114s, not 3112s.
Remby is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:28 AM
  #5  
Walther
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 538
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

Thanks:

I used HS55 in my last plane but I think I will go with the Futaba 3114 this time. I have never built a RC 1/2A plane before, it has all been a lot bigger stuff.
Walther is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:49 AM
  #6  
chevy43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,090
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

I use HS55's throughout on my 33 oz .19 powered Little Extrea 36" span with no problems at all. They won't put up with being bumped while moving the plane around though.
chevy43 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:06 PM
  #7  
Remby
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Russell, PA
Posts: 804
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

Walther;
Good to see you'ins taking the 1/2a plunge! The futaba's are a good little servo. I think anything around a .15 would be fine with them, provided a bit of vibration protection for them, all should be well. I prefer a "Y" wire to two servos setup, it makes for a solid responce from the model.

Never had any of the 55's myself, they are mentioned in the 1/2a posts quite often.

Keep us posted on your progress.
Remby is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:25 PM
  #8  
Mr Cox
 
Mr Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Karlstad, SWEDEN
Posts: 3,790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

There is also the HS45, it has the same weight as the HS55 (8grams), it is a little bit smaller (narrower) but more importantly the gears are carbonite and they are "thicker" (i.e. larger overlapp between gears) than the ones in the HS55.
It looks very promissing since it is the gear stripping on the HS 55 which is trobblesome. I only have one HS45 so far and I will use it for throttle first, before I put it onto something more important...
Mr Cox is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:30 PM
  #9  
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 3,023
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size



HS-55's ARE durable & strong. I have never, many years EVER lost a 55.

4 of them control all 4 tail surfaces of the 80" A-10 just fine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26866.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	915190  
cyclops2 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:20 PM
  #10  
air-madness
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , IN
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo size

I hear folks speak highly of the HS55s, but, I have had very bad luck with them - I hate them actually. I do like the 45s, futaba 3114s, and HS85s - I really like the 85s as they have never once given me problems and there is a metal gear option and the carbonite gear set avalible. I even use the 85s in 1/2a planes with no problems. To each his own, I suppose.
air-madness is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.