Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Source for Babe Bee needle valves?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Source for Babe Bee needle valves?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 09:59 PM
centurikid81

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Source for Babe Bee needle valves?

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the R/C world, and very new to 1/2a modeling. Recently, I got my hands on an old Cox babe bee engine. The first issue I ran into was a loose prop driver (I posted about this), which I was able to replace very cheaply from that big auction site. I then decided to try and make this engine like new. I soaked, I scrubbed. And it sparkled . I replaced the crankcase gasket, reed valve, fuel pick up tube, and glow head. Compression was awesome. Seemed all was well, so I built a small test stand and was going to fire it up. I found the original instruction sheet, followed all the directions from there and the tips I found on this forum....and the engine would not go. Finally, I got it to start (backwards!!!) for about 12 seconds. It died, and now won't go at all.

On closer inspection, the one part I didn't replace (the needle valve) is damaged. I hit ebay, and the only one I can find is 9 bucks, more than I paid for the engine and parts. I don't need anything new; just something that works. Can anyone point me to a source so I can get get this engine running?
Old 02-03-2009, 10:28 PM
lildiesel

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Source for Babe Bee needle valves?

$9.00 and probably a highway robbery mailing charge. Yikes.

It might be simpler to spend $3.95 on the plastic backplate/reed/needle valve assembly. I've e-mailed you a source for that part.
Old 02-04-2009, 11:24 AM
gcb

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

ORIGINAL: centurikid81
...On closer inspection, the one part I didn't replace (the needle valve) is damaged.