Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

RC Novice -- is small an option?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

RC Novice -- is small an option?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2003, 09:40 PM
Rick Lindsey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Novice -- is small an option?

Hi all, I'm brand new to the hobby (Went out to the flying field on Saturday, one of the local club members was kind enough to let me fly his trainer around in circles on the buddy box and I'm hooked!)

Are smaller models suitable to learn to fly on? I like the idea of smaller planes, whether glow or electric, but everything I've read says that bigger is better when it comes to learning to fly. On the other hand, I've also read that a light wing-loading is key, and I'm assuming small glow planes could easily have similar wing-loadings to park fliers (significantly less than a .40 sized glow trainer).

To top it all off, I'm thinking eventually I might want a Designs that Fly "Biplane!" (my, what a gorgeous looking plane) and was wondering if I would be better off learning on a traditional trainer, or if a small, lightweight plane on an .049 or the like would work as a reasonable trainer.

thanks for any advice!
Old 06-16-2003, 09:54 PM
gusman

I'm kinda new too but i learned on a 70" sig kadet so i can't say that 1/2a is better to learn on. But if you have a club with a big field i'd go with the big ones- they are easier to see and are less sensitive to control since they're bigger. but thats just my couple cents as they say- and 1/2 a you usally have to buy micro stuff which is more expensive usually
gus
Old 06-16-2003, 09:56 PM
DICKEYBIRD

Gawd only knows how many fellers learned to fly on the old Cox Cessna Centurion (Reed .049 powered foam ARF, 2 channels, Mode 1 transmitter no less) .40 trainers are probably easiest, though.