Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Polyspan with Japanese Tissue trim

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Polyspan with Japanese Tissue trim

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2009, 05:30 PM
Broken Wings
My Feedback: (20)

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Polyspan with Japanese Tissue trim

How do you guys apply the trim?

I've got a model that I want to try and put a scalloped edge on the wing. I've never tried it before as I normally paint the trim on. I want the semi-transparent look of tissue.
Old 11-18-2009, 07:54 PM
Jim Thomerson

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Polyspan with Japanese Tissue trim

Put some dope on your polyspan, enough so the tissue will stick. Cut out your tissue trim and lay it in place. Use thinner on a small brush and stick the tissue down starting at the middle and working out. Then put some more dope on the whole wing. After a couple of coats of dope, give the tissue a very light sanding.
Old 11-18-2009, 08:37 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Yep, that pretty much covers it. The only other hint I'll offer to add is that I found the tissue lays down easier and seals more firmly if you place it and then mist it very lightly with just enough to make it go limp. Don't worry about the moisture. Even if it does cause some blushing that'll go away with the next coat of thin clear.

You want the dope to be dry but I found it works best if it's newly dried. So plan on the last coat going on an hour or so before you apply the tissue. The thinner has an easier time activating it that way.