RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-2-1-8-airplanes-70/)
-   -   Using the Hitec single stick radio for .049 up to .25 plane? (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-2-1-8-airplanes-70/2543655-using-hitec-single-stick-radio-049-up-25-plane.html)

meowy84 01-15-2005 05:25 PM

Using the Hitec single stick radio for .049 up to .25 plane?

I finally looked at the Hitec (Focus and Neon) line of single-stick park flyer radios at my LHS today. They fit my hand very well and leave the other hand free to hand launch. I recently bought the JLine Quattro with a 7 channel mini receiver and 4 standard servos which I haven't used yet but for some odd reason I really like the way the Hitec feels. I'm a newbie to planes and so will only be doing the rudder, elevetor and throttle thing for the foreseeable future and will leave the ailerons for way later. I have a selection of small engines that I plan on eventually building planes for including several Cox .049 reedies, an Enya .09, O.S. .10 and .15, Enya .15, and O.S. .25 and the like. Anyways, MY QUESTION IS THIS: Is there any reason why I wouldn't be able to use the Hitec single stick radio (whether I end up with the AM Focus or FM Neon) for planes with larger engines even up to .25? I know the throttle on the Hitec is a ratcheting one but I thought I read somewhere that some have somehow disabled the ratcheting mechanism and changed it to a regular slide action.

mclintock 01-15-2005 09:13 PM

RE: Using the Hitec single stick radio for .049 up to .25 plane?

I think you can fly any size you want three channel. Maybe money better spent would be some servos and another rx to us with the jr, like berg or whatever little rx. I have several transmitters and keeping the ni-cad batteries alive in all of them is a bit of a chore.