RCU Forums - View Single Post - Fuel mixing advice
View Single Post
Old 07-04-2011, 04:01 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts
Default RE: Fuel mixing advice

ORIGINAL: hsukaria

1QwkSport2.5R,
I have a couple of Super Tigres, a G51 and the other a GS40. Love them both.

I noticed that you said that you richened the HS needle 2 clicks from top rpm with no noticeable drop in RPM's. I am no engine expert, but I have always understood that the HS needle has to be richened from peak RPM's until the engine speed drops around 200 rpm's or more.

Once the top end is richened to 200-500 rpm below peak, get the throttle to idle and spike up the throttle. If the engine quits, the idle needle is too lean. It the transition stumbles and hesitates, then it is too rich.

Super Tigre manual also suggests pinching the fuel line temporarily at idle and waiting for the engine response. If the engine slows down or quits, then LS needle is too lean. If engine speeds up a lot after the fuel line pinch, idle is too rich.

You probably tried all these tricks, but I know all these were all I needed to get them adjusted. I did have to rotate the needle spraybar lately on the G51 since the transition was too rich. But that is the first and only time since I bought it 5 years ago.

Occassionally, at the beginning of flying season, I have to pump fuel through the carb at closed throttle and WOT to flush out the gunk from the carb. It helped a few times.