RCU Forums - View Single Post - Volcano pinion gear size
View Single Post
Old 07-31-2013, 09:21 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Volcano pinion gear size

ORIGINAL: Raindrop

Hi,
I am new to RC trucks. I have recently acquired a Redcat Volano EPX 4wd truck which has a brushed 540 motor and brushed ESC. After running the truck for few hours I have question about gears, transmission and low end torque, so I am posting the question in this thread since this thread is about gears.

I bought the truck for my 8 years old to run in the backyard, so I did not need to run very fast. So I thought that a brushed motor would be enough for 'not too fast' driving. But I found that Bermuda Lawn is providing quite a challenge for the truck ( grass is not really TALL, but it is very thick, very well taken care of Bermuda sod lawn.). Truck was quite a bit slower in the grass as compared to on pavement and after just running for 2 minutes truck started to slowdown. I picked up the truck and noticed burning smell coming out of truck. I also found that motor and ESC were super hot just after 2 minutes of run time. I guess I need more low end torque.

Now I thought of adding brushless motor & ESC but then it may make the truck too fast for the kids. I was wondering is there any way I can change pinion/spur gear combo to give little more low end torque in exchange for top speed. Two diferent solutions come to mind and I want to get opinion of the experts here.

1) My truck comes with 17T pinion abd 64T spur gear. Redcat does offer a 14T Pinion gear, I can try putting in that 14T pinion gear with the stock motor to see if it can give some extra low end torque. Do you guys think it would make any noticeable difference?