RCU Forums - View Single Post - Why don't many people build RC airplane kits anymore? Part II
Old 09-03-2013, 03:05 PM
GallopingGhostler

Received 80 Likes on 63 Posts

Originally Posted by AMA 74894
I'm a traditional kit builder from way back (back in THOSE days the big discussion was 'why doesn't anybody SCRATCH BUILD anymore....') undoubtedly the fact that you can now buy a factory built arf for less than the price of an older kit + covering + glue has a HUGE impact. IF your main passion for RC is flying and not building, then why wouldn't you buy an ARF vs a kit. I know a lot of folks that can fly like nobody's business, but couldn't build a kite (not a KIT... a KITE ) if their lives depended on it.
Jim, I'm not too far behind you as my AMA# is 74677. I remember kits were so competitive that kits were sometimes cheaper than buying the wood. One might have to use the kit balsa stamped or die crunched pieces as templates to make a few parts from good balsa, but I didn't mind this as the kit prices were cheap.

I think the guys that get the short end of the stick are the ones who truly ENJOY Kit Building. (and of course the kit manufacturers here in the states) The other side of that (ARF) coin of course is that although people new to the sport do not have to spend countless hours building a trainer (and very possibly turn it back into a kit on the first flight) they also do not learn how to build (and repair) some manufacturers build works of art, jig built and straight as an arrow. others, well not so much.
True, some suffer quality control issues, which turn into flight safety issues.

at the end of the day I really do think it's simply a matter of convenience and of cost. if you were going to choose between two transmitters, each with the same price, one ready to use and the other a box full of circuit boards, resistors, and a soldering iron... which would you choose?