RCU Forums - View Single Post - Beginner Glider Input Request
View Single Post
Old 03-07-2015, 01:40 PM
SBS_Pilot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by BigA1982
There is a budget and I was specifically looking for pros / cons on my final two choices.
I have no experience of neither of your choices, but such small trivialities doesn't keep me from having opinions :-)

The Yuki model seems to be a (more or less accurate) scale model of a full-size glider. From what I've read gliders rarely scale very good, the high aspect ratio of full-size gliders can give rather nasty flight characteristics on a model. On the other hand, when flown correctly they really look good.

The FMS model is on the smaller end of gliders, which give it a rather high wing loading. Besides, a smaller model limits it's visual footprint and makes it harder to see and thus limits the area (or height) you can cover when searching for lift.

That's the only comments I have on those two, and, as I said, I have no personal experience of them so there is a chance they turn out to be excellent gliders despite my doubts.

Some other comments: There is no single 'best' beginners glider, most of them are, in my opinion, 'good enough', but some will have some advantages depending on local conditions and personal preferences. Much more important is how much you fly. If you're going to fly much, you have to have a plane you like. If you are a T-stab-fan, go get yourself a T-stab-glider. If you are a floater fan (like myself), go get a floater and just accept the fact that it doesn't fly as good as a heavier plane when it's windy. If you are a...., well, you get the idea.