RCU Forums - View Single Post - cheap vs expensive CA
View Single Post
Old 12-27-2018, 09:37 PM
rinkhals01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie
There is a difference for sure in the quality of adhesives. I am a composites tech by trade and like you I get to work with some really high end products and proprietary epoxy resin matrix systems. For my models I do not use any hobby type epoxy glues, I use a high quality epoxy laminating resin and add the appropriate fillers depending on the job at hand.

As far as CA is concerned, I used to use nothing but Zap products as it was clearly better then other brands. I initially did not like the Bob Smith brands that many hobby shops now stock as their house brand. However after a few times of having to buy the Bob Smith CA when it was the only thing available I have noticed that it seems to have been improved and it now meets my needs.

What does this mean tomthe average modeler? The answer is not a whole heck of a lot. Better adhesives means when building you can use less which will reduce cost and weight to a very small degree. Selecting the correct adhesive for the job IMO is much more important. A good example is sheeting a foam wing. I use laminating epoxy for this as well. I tape the sheets together, add a thin layer of epoxy and place the sheeting on the core, then the cores in the shucks and vacuum bag. When done the sheeting looks like it was one full sheet with no visible seams. Something that would be impossible if the sheeting was butt glued together with CA and bonded to the cores with contact cement.
Yip I agree with what you said and it is very sound logic!