RCU Forums - View Single Post - aerobird V tail or rudder/elevators?
View Single Post
Old 02-21-2004, 03:12 AM
BobbyGee
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: aerobird V tail or rudder/elevators?

Stephen,

My first plane is a Challenger. It was a handful because as a first plane it feels fast and responsive. It took a half dozen outings and a bunch of crashes and ugly landings to get somewhaty competent and confident. I wen the self-taught route, too.

You seem fully aware of the alternatives and of the limitations inherent to the Aerobird. I'd say go for it. I wanted to experience more stuff, so my second plane is a GWS J-3 Cub, fuselage version. It's much more docile and has the same 3-channel control. The standard tail feel sno different from the Challenger's v-tail. Same control movements from the transmitter.

If I can share from my experience thus far:

1.- Be patient. Make your first flights on WINDLESS days. Not almost windless, WINDLESS. My mistake was to find out the hard way that wind really affects these little planes. If you want to enjoy the hobby, start out on WINDLESS days until you get the plane to do what you want it to do.

2.- Fly in a BIG field. The booklet that comes with the plane suggests 600' x 600'. I wish I had listened. I tried in about 600' x 250'. There was also a mild breeze - enough to feel it on my face while standing still. I flew OK for a few minutes than got too low and I hit a boulder that marks a field boundary and smashed a wing. Calm air and a lot of space with no trees or obstacles will help keep you from getting white-knuckled early on. Oh ... and at least 50 feet of altitude is a good thing! On my second flight I augered in straight down from about 30 feet and broke a second wing cleanly into two pieces - again, ignoring a breeze and fighting the plane around. Not wise!