RCU Forums - View Single Post - Heckler 3D
Thread: Heckler 3D
View Single Post
Old 06-07-2004, 08:17 PM
dalbert02

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Heckler 3D

Well, I finally got the chance to maiden mine. It's only been a few weeks, but between a newborn baby son, running my own business, and sucky weather on my days off, she finally took to the air. I am not an expert pilot, I think I am a better builder then flyer, but I've had a Hanger9 stick for almost 5 years and it has been thoroughly re-kitted at least three times. That gives you some kinda reference as to my abilities or lack thereof. Well, to get warmed up I did some fast flying with my Sig Wonder with an OS 15fp and a custom exhaust. Since I am also using a new radio (Futaba 9C), I spent some time adjusting the idle and engine kill mixes. Once that was figured out, I set her on the taxi way and she tracked nice and straight to the runway. At the runway I slowly applied power and she went nearly perfectly straight with just a tad of corrective rudder. In about 20 feet she was airborn at about 1/4 throttle. I just flew the pattern a few times and to my utter astonishment, I did not need to adjust any trims. I always have to adjust trims at least a click or two on a maiden flight! Anyway, after that suprise wore off, I tried pointing the nose in the sky and moving the controls to keep her hovering. She definately hovers longer then I could hover the stick (1-3 seconds), but I couldn't get more then about 8-10 seconds before I'd loose it. I just push the throttle forward and she let out a BWWRAAAPPP!!! kinda sound and take off like a rocket. Somehow the skin resonates the tuned pipe's exhaust to a really loud farting sound. Sounds kinda wierd to me, but no harm done and it doesn't smell like it sounds so I'm okay with it. I then proceeded to fly a little lower and slower. It's amazing, but after a little practice I could fly this thing in a baseball field. I've never owned a real 3D capable plane, but