3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

need 3d parkflyer

Reply

Old 06-05-2011, 02:20 PM
  #1  
crazy nick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (29)
 
crazy nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: orefield, PA
Posts: 826
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default need 3d parkflyer

I have an E-flite cz yak. While I love the way this plane flies true and straight w/ all the godly power in the world, it is just too big for my honda civic and I can't stand 68 minute charge time and 5 min flight. Can anyone recommend a smaller 3d capable parkflyer w/ a little more runtime? Foam or balsa , doesn't matter. If someone is lookin to go to a yak from somethin smaller , maybe we could work something out. My friend just got a flyzone switch and that has a descent runtime , however he is just learning and I don't know how 3d capable it is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
crazy nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 03:24 AM
  #2  
nitroairplane
Senior Member
 
nitroairplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 584
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Parkzone sukhoi?
nitroairplane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 03:53 PM
  #3  
crazy nick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (29)
 
crazy nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: orefield, PA
Posts: 826
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Kind of small , but I just watched a video w/ some hovering and rolling harriers. $100 I'll try it.
crazy nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 01:30 PM
  #4  
Beachcomber
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

The best 3D planes, of any size, are the ones with very light weight relative to their wing area. The lighter the better. Also mid-wing seems to do better than low wing. Generally the flat/profile foamies are lighter (better for 3D) than an equivalent size foamy with full fuselage. Hope this helps.
Beachcomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:51 PM
  #5  
Aircraftfreak15
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

the eflight mini funtana is perfict for that but it my be a little to big for you at a 44 inch wing span but it flys perfict. But the eflight 480 on a 2200 mha 3 cell will give you a 10 to 15 min flight time. Heres a link to the madin of mine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pu34VjjEkYY
Aircraftfreak15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 08:06 PM
  #6  
Revy
My Feedback: (1)
 
Revy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Revelstoke, BC, CANADA
Posts: 775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

You're flying it now and fitting it in there, so why not just buy a better charger and at least another pack or two. You'll soon be looking for a bigger vehicle to fly more than one.
Revy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 10:36 AM
  #7  
1pylonracer
Junior Member
 
1pylonracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bridgton, ME
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Try a profile flat foamy. But don't get one of those flatouts from electrifly.com, the foam breaks to easy from what I've heard.
1pylonracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 02:37 PM
  #8  
mithrandir
My Feedback: (2)
 
mithrandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: adelanto, CA
Posts: 1,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Hands Down... get a DW Foamies yak55

Mike has it as a complete setup, motor ESC, servos or you can equip it as you please...

mine has a Hacker A20-22L, APC 11 x 3.8, Futaba S3114 servos... it flies a lot like my 40% if I tone down the rudder effectiveness....
mithrandir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:26 AM
  #9  
Marcol
Senior Member
 
Marcol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: King\'s Lynn, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

I'm not sure if you can get Multiplex stuff in the States , but my recommendation is the Multiplex Parkmaster 3D with the "tuning" power set , also from Multiplex

It's THE best flying foamy I've had. It's not cheap , but you really do get what you pay for.
Marcol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 04:21 AM
  #10  
Beachcomber
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 256
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Rather than re-type the discription and impressions of my new 32" Foamy, here's a link to the thread. I wouldn't go any smaller than 32" wing span for outdoor flying, unless you're in a small area protected by trees or large bushes.

Hope it helps.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1457104
Beachcomber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 02:44 AM
  #11  
meez3d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 43000 Kajang, MALAYSIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

Yea, with A20-22L in your hand, you won't go wrong with Parkmaster3d...............

Good luck
meez3d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:54 PM
  #12  
haasjj
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dickinson, ND
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need 3d parkflyer

I know this thread is several months old now and you probably have a new plane but I'm going to throw this one out there anyway. Check out [link=http://www.abellhobby.com/Adrenaline-3D-V2-p/adrenalinev2.htm]Abell Hobby Adrenaline 3D V2[/link] Its not well know in most places but where I'm from it seems like everyone has one. IMO its one of the better foam profile planes out there and its inexpensive, give it a try I think you will like it.
haasjj is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service