Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

New to electric 3D, suggestions please!

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

New to electric 3D, suggestions please!

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2004, 02:30 PM
brentp76
My Feedback: (14)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to electric 3D, suggestions please!

I recently saw a radical edge 3d fly and was amazed a what it was capable of. I am interested in buying a small 3D electric plane that I can use in small places. similar to the radical edge 3d. I have no EP experience only glow. Could you let me know what suggestions you have for a good 3D park flyer. I like the Radical edge but it looks a little fragile for hard hit's. What is a good, easy/quick to put together, and good 3D flying bird. Also what suggestions for equipment. I don't mind going a little better on the equipment because I would like the stuff to be able to go into other 3d EP planes. I do not plan to buy multiple EP engines etc. as my strong interests are in giant scale glow/gas. Any tips would be greatly appriciated.
Old 02-12-2004, 02:40 PM
wind junkie
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: New to electric 3D, suggestions please!

For indoor and small spaces, the flat plate foamies are hard to beat.

Here's a video of the Jeff Williams "E-Sledge":

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/Jeff...1518490/tm.htm

This plane has been abused a bit, but it's really easy to fix and still flys great at 9.5 oz. I think it may have an edge in the durability department over the Shock flyers which are taking the country by storm.

From what I hear, Jeff is too busy to make kits at the moment, however he will sell plans and the build is very straightforward.
Old 02-12-2004, 04:08 PM
brentp76

Do the foam planes need dead wind conditions, or can they fly in a little breeze, does the wood/foam handle outside flying better?
Old 02-12-2004, 05:03 PM
wind junkie