Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Hovering. Hard or easy?

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Hovering. Hard or easy?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2005, 09:53 PM
mayday

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hovering. Hard or easy?

Ok, I have an e-flite mini edge 540. I am just learning 3d. I can't seem to get this to hover. I just want to know, is this simply a difficult maneuver that takes practice, or do I have something horribly wrong with my setup.

I completely respect that some maneuvers are just hard, and take practice. I'm all for that. But it LOOKS so easy. I would love someone to confirm that this is just more difficult than it looks, and I'll just keep trying.

I know that a CG further back helps, and i probably do have mine a bit forward for 3d. Trying to maintain some balance between 3d ability, and my ability to land it in one piece.

Thanks,

Mayday
Old 10-30-2005, 10:51 PM
sb13
My Feedback: (52)

Default RE: Hovering. Hard or easy?

Hovering takes practice. You almost need to predict what the plane is going to do before it does it and correct for it. I'm not sure how else to explain it. I'm still learning myself but I have noticed that it takes less movements than what I was doing at first. What I mean is it's very easy to over correct. Again, it takes practice so keep it up and you will get it.
Old 10-31-2005, 12:43 AM
cje0114
My Feedback: (27)

Hovering is hard to do, but get's easier after you get the hang of it. If you have expo on your tx, use it. It makes life alot easier.

Chris
Old 10-31-2005, 01:16 AM
BasinBum
My Feedback: (2)

Once you can do it it's easy, that's why it looks that way. If the mini-Edge flies like the mini-Funtana forget about learning much 3D with it anyways. If by "hovering" you are talking about torque rolls here's what I suggest.