Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Check it Out - New Bipe !!!

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Check it Out - New Bipe !!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2006, 11:22 AM
rmgmag

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check it Out - New Bipe !!!

You've got to check this out!!

This is a pre-production prototype of the Sierra, currently being developed by www.rcxplanes.com. I was lucky enough to get my hands on one to test it out for them. I'm not the most accomplished 3D flier, but I'm probably representative of the average builder and flier. And no, they're not paying me to write this or test their planes.

This thing was very easy to build, took me about 5-6 hours (I'm a notoriously slow builder) with only basic instructions (they're still being worked on). The design lends itself to easy building. It took me longer to get the electronics set up than it did to build the airframe. The graphics are easy to install, and I really like how they look.

I've got to thank Bud Wilkinson for this one, I think he's got a winner here.

Here are the specs:

Set-up:
Custom CDR cool motor
Prop - GWS HD 8x4
Align 10 amp ESC
FMA M5 receiver with one of those mini antenna's
3 HS-55's (they recommend 2 HS-50's and 1 HS-55 for the ailerons)
3S batteries, e-tec 700, TP730, Vampowerpro 620
Transmitter: Futaba 9CAP Super
AUW: 11 oz (but I think my scale is about 1 oz heavy) I also build fairly heavy because I use mostly thick CA, and a lot of it.

Throws:
As much as I could get on each surface without binding.

Expo:
Ailerons - 25% (I'll probably reduce this further)
Elevator - 60% (the elevator is very effective)
Rudder - 30%

Flight Tests - these are based on the first 10 flights

For the first 5 flights, I flew it without having the aileron servo glued in!!! Didn't even notice it until after I looked it over after my first crash.