Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Are FlatOuts any good?

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2006, 01:13 PM
Warning
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are FlatOuts any good?

Hello Everyone . . .

I am currently a glow pilot looking for a foam electric . . . something I can fly in my back yard . . . im interested in the flat outs the seem pretty inexpensive . . .ive priced it to be about $200 dollars with a new motor and all ( i already have a Jr Xp8103 radio and a trition charger) so im all set there . . . is there anything else im going to need besides a new motor and esp? . . . what do you all think of them?

If you all do like the flat outs what plane do you like the best . . . what’s your recommended set up?
Old 08-21-2006, 01:23 PM
Zagiflyer576

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Are FlatOuts any good?

Well, theres alot of people that like them and alot of people that dont. If you dont mind building a little bit and following the instructions, you will like them. Really they are all pretty good, except for the mat chapman cap 580. Be sure to stay away from that one as it flys like garbage because of the low wing. I have the RCU Bipe now and I love it. Its very easy to fly, tracks strait both level, inverted, and in knife edge!

What motor and speed control are you getting?
Other than that, your going to need a 3 cell 800 mah lipo, a micro reciever (GWS nano 4 channel), and 3 micro servos, like hs 55's. Thats pretty much it.
Old 08-21-2006, 01:58 PM
bdavison
My Feedback: (1)

That question has long been debated.
It is my opinion that the flatouts are indeed fine airplanes IF and only IF the person building it builds it correctly.
Complaints about them normally come from inexperienced builders, and poor building methods. The flatouts are a little more time intensive and difficult than other foam kits, but are not impossible.

Here are some tips to make your flatout successful.