Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Hacker X-7 servo load

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 04:53 PM
FlyFar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hacker X-7 servo load

Hello,

Does anyone have experience with the Hacker X-7 ESC powering 4 servos?

I'm new to electric, and I got the X-7 with an airplane/motor/esc kit. The manufacturer says he prefers two servos for the ailerons, so I followed his recommendation. Now, as I read the specs on the X-7, I see it's BEC load is 2-3 servos. Am I headed for trouble if I use the X-7 to power 4 servos (2 servos for the ailerons)?

Thanks,
Nathan
Old 08-23-2006, 11:07 AM
Gary Hoorn

Default RE: Hacker X-7 servo load

Nathan,
I don't know about that speed control but I can tell you I had my problems running 4 servos on another brand that said 2-3 servos. It would apparently overheat and shut down in the air. The resulting crashes took the joy out of the day. Hacker makes very good equipment and I would stay with their recommendations to be on the safe side.
Gary
Old 08-23-2006, 12:26 PM
FlyFar

Thanks Gary,

So I've got this plane built that uses 4 servos (one for each aileron), and I've got a motor/esc combo that work for the weight of the plane, but the esc can't handle the 4 servos. What to do?

I don't know enough about ESCs yet. If I get an X-20, which can handle 4 servos, but is obviously designed for a bigger motor, will I hurt my motor?

Is the ESC just setting the timing, and then the motor demands current from the ESC? (Similar to how a motor demands current from a battery?) Or is the ESC pushing current at the motor, thereby having the ability to push the motor too hard?

Thank you,
Nathan
Old 08-23-2006, 06:39 PM
Gary Hoorn

Nathan,