3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Reply

Old 01-16-2007, 11:19 AM
  #1  
Palomino
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tlaxcala, MEXICO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Hi.
Buy my first electrical airplane, Reactor EP, but not yet I buy the motor nor the battery.

Desire to know how as the best option serious to make flights 3d. [&:]

I have thought to use a battery "EVO 2500mAh 3S1P (EVO25003S1P)" but not if it is good option. On the motor it was thinking to use the "Great Plans Rimfire 35-30-950"

Thanks.

Rafael
Mexico
Palomino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 02:43 PM
  #2  
jzrf6c
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 565
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Rafael,

You can download the Motocalc program from www.motocalc.com. There you can plug in different parameter for you plane.

Hope this helps.

Larry
jzrf6c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 11:58 PM
  #3  
musltang
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: vancouver, WA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

I have this power system in my mini funtanaX. it flies very well but as i became more comfortable with the plane and started trying some 3d i found that it didnt have very good vertical performance with the recommended 11x5.5e prop. I then tried a 12x6e which is at the top of this motors capabilties. I picked up some more thrust but i found that i was drawing 22 amps static. electrifly rates this motor with a 20amp constant draw. it will fly this no problem in cold weather but may overheat in warm weather. i found that this motor doesnt really perform until you use a 4 cell . i would recommend 35-30-1250 or 1450 as they will flow more current and will give you way more thrust with you 3 cell setup. or maybe look at e-flites park 480 1050kv. it is comparible in size and has alot more punch!

hope i have helped you some
musltang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 12:28 AM
  #4  
Ryguy
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Get a smaller battery. A 2100 TP Prolite is the biggest I would used. I personally am a big fan of Polyquest 1500s.
Ryguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:48 AM
  #5  
Palomino
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tlaxcala, MEXICO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

ok, Thaks

Regards.

Rafael.
Palomino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 06:28 PM
  #6  
flybrian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Forget the Reactor. Get the mini Funtana X Get the E-Flite 480 it is a much better motor and will do what it is rated to do. The Rimfire 35-30 950 will not get you the watts you need. Most poeple can only get about 190 watts from this motor on 3 cell not 298 watts. Maybe if you run a 4 cell it might do it but Trust me, the reactor airframe is NOT going to handle a 4 cell. I have had 2 reactors and 1 yak from Great planes both with the same stupid wing joining method and all 3 plane are a loss with the main wings breaking off in flight. You might as well get alot of ply wood and reinforce the wings and landing gear and hope it stays together or get the mini funtana x Better quality plane and the recomended power set up will give you 275 watts and it has the proven to work and hold wing tube bolt on wings that hold up well. The one I have has outlasted the 2 reactors and 1 yak.

Brian
flybrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 11:41 AM
  #7  
Palomino
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tlaxcala, MEXICO
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Thanks for your advice, Brian.
If I have problems with the performance of the Reactor, will think about the Funtana.

Regards.

Rafael
Palomino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:46 PM
  #8  
Bat Fastard
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manakin-Sabot, VA
Posts: 244
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Just like flybrian I broke the wing off in flight today on my Reactor. This plane is junk and the recommended power set isn't up to the job of 3D flying. That whole experience just cost me about $190. Are there any good airframes in the low 20oz range with the rimfire 35-30-950 and 2100 lipo's? Or should I just can the motor as well and start from scratch?

Jamie
Bat Fastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 02:40 AM
  #9  
musltang
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: vancouver, WA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

I have the rimfire and i ran it on my funtana x and it flew ok it did hover but not much pull out.if you can still find them the original mini funtana is lighter and smaller than the x and would fly very well with the rimfire. and it is a very good flying plane.
musltang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:26 AM
  #10  
fantasiiio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jonquiere, QC, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Reactor+Rimfire950+Evo 2500 = 3d ????

Hi, I just bought a reactor for christmas. The motor I bought is a rimfire 35-36-1200 ( it was 50% off )and it weight 100 grams instead of 70 for the 35-30-950. I want to know if my plane will destroy itself before taking off or it will do good vertical and have no problem for flying ? I can't try it because it's winter here and the temperature is about -20 to -30 celcius in january/february and there is 5-6 feets of snow all over the ground and houses.
fantasiiio is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service