Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Engine / ESC / Battery Setup

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Engine / ESC / Battery Setup

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2007, 07:24 AM
qspilotcmh

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine / ESC / Battery Setup

I am fairly new to electrics. Is there any websites or articles that take you through the ideal setup of an airplane? I found one article on Horizon Hobby but need more information.

I am going to buy the Aeroworks Extra 260 EP and I want the best and lightest setup possible. I have a Park 480 1080KV (currently in a Brio) and a new Park 370 1360KV, however I am not sure if either are ideal for this plane.

Thanks
Old 11-01-2007, 08:33 AM
Fliprob17

Default RE: Engine / ESC / Battery Setup

http://www.aero-works.net/store/detail.aspx?ID=294

This is the plane we are talking about correct?

They are saying that it comes in at 17oz. The park 480 would be big time overkill. The Park 370 1360kv would be borderline, but might be on the low side in terms of total watts/power, it may be worth a try since you already have it though. It should at least give you some borderline mild 3D, but not the unlimited performance.

Something with similar specs. to the Park 400 or Park 450 would be more along the lines of what the plane would require. The Park 400 is right at the specs. and the 450 would provide a bit more power than the specs. call for.

A big factor is the battery you plan on using as well. Are you going to run 2cell or 3cell?
Old 11-01-2007, 09:52 AM
qspilotcmh

That's the plane. I am not 100% set on that plane, however I have seen it fly with the Park 400 and it's awesome. I will probably be using the TP 11.1V 1320MAh battery. I am trying to find any articles or websites that give a good baseline for motor amps vs speed controller vs battery.

Thanks
Old 11-02-2007, 09:08 AM
Fliprob17