Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Carl Goldberg Sukhoi SU-26

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Carl Goldberg Sukhoi SU-26

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2008, 08:15 AM
ChillPhatCat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carl Goldberg Sukhoi SU-26

I've been building this sukhoi for the last 5 years... well it's more like I built it for a year until it was all framed up and every once in a while I put in 5-10 mins. Anyway, I was originally going to power it with a Gas engine and I had the engine in hand, but I decided against it as the setup was just too bulky and I feared it would vibrate the plane to pieces. I sold that motor and recently I've been thinking about converting it to electric.

I was thinking about running an Axi 5330/18 Outrunner on a 17x12 prop and a couple 9cell 3500 mAh LiPo packs in parallel... The plane is a 1/4 scale, 72" WS and is probably going to come out to about 11 lbs on this setup. Motocalc came up with something like 7 mins runtime and power to weight of 1.2:1... is it generally accurate or just good for a ballpark figure? What other motors can deliver similar power?

As it sits now:
Old 06-20-2008, 09:18 AM
tIANci

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Carl Goldberg Sukhoi SU-26

Chill ... the CG SU26 is such a nice plane. The AXI 5330/18 is just nice for her with a 10S set up. I guess on 9S you can get her to turn the 17x12 happily. The AUW of the plane should be in the 11-12 lbs region. The AXI 5330/18 on 10S will happily fly a 15 lbs plane. I think you might get more than a 1.2:1 thrust to weight ratio. Why not try out an 18x10 and 20x10 prop and see how many amps she is pulling? I mean on MotorCalc that is ...

Other motors are your Hackers, Hyperions, Plettenbergs etc