Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    edinburg, VA
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Servo mounting for 3D

    When setting up a foamie for 3D, is it better to keep the elev and rudder servos close to the CG or close to the elev and rudder?
    Thanks
    Jonathan

  2. #2
    JohnVH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ferndale, WA
    Posts
    15,748
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Servo mounting for 3D

    Hello, Are you talking about one of my kits? www.3dfoamy.com or someone elses?

    On 3DFoamy kits it depends on the model.
    ORIGINAL: jefflangton
    Time to bend over and let your head pop out!!!!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    edinburg, VA
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Servo mounting for 3D

    I just cut my version of a plane. Bits of this one pieces of that one.

  4. #4
    JohnVH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ferndale, WA
    Posts
    15,748
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Servo mounting for 3D

    Oh ok, then I will move this thread to the 3D section as this isnt a 3DFoamy.com kit.

    Depends on balance where you mount your servo's basically. My pro models have them on the tail, the super kits have them by the wing.

    ORIGINAL: jefflangton
    Time to bend over and let your head pop out!!!!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pinckney, MI
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Servo mounting for 3D

    put your servos as close to the cg as u can without having to add weight to the tail the plane will fly th best with its weight around the cg, but on such a small light plane you will have to comprimise a little to get it to balance. i usually install servos last, i tape them in place untill i find a good location to achive the desired cg. if you r battery location moves do this with the battery centered that way u can adjust the cg fore and aft after first flights to dial in the cg

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Chula Vista, CA
    Posts
    335
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Servo mounting for 3D

    IMO, putting the servos about 2-3" behind the wing on most foamies yields a better moving foamy. More mass around the tail will allow it to whip around better in spins
    Life is short, fly more!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.