3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Servo mounting for 3D

Reply
Old 09-07-2009, 11:21 AM
  #1
jonny_hthwy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: edinburg, VA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo mounting for 3D

When setting up a foamie for 3D, is it better to keep the elev and rudder servos close to the CG or close to the elev and rudder?
Thanks
Jonathan
jonny_hthwy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:22 AM
  #2
JohnVH
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo mounting for 3D

Hello, Are you talking about one of my kits? www.3dfoamy.com or someone elses?

On 3DFoamy kits it depends on the model.
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 05:01 PM
  #3
jonny_hthwy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: edinburg, VA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo mounting for 3D

I just cut my version of a plane. Bits of this one pieces of that one.
jonny_hthwy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 05:13 PM
  #4
JohnVH
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo mounting for 3D

Oh ok, then I will move this thread to the 3D section as this isnt a 3DFoamy.com kit.

Depends on balance where you mount your servo's basically. My pro models have them on the tail, the super kits have them by the wing.

JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:10 AM
  #5
lowdonkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: pinckney, MI
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo mounting for 3D

put your servos as close to the cg as u can without having to add weight to the tail the plane will fly th best with its weight around the cg, but on such a small light plane you will have to comprimise a little to get it to balance. i usually install servos last, i tape them in place untill i find a good location to achive the desired cg. if you r battery location moves do this with the battery centered that way u can adjust the cg fore and aft after first flights to dial in the cg
lowdonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 02:02 AM
  #6
Xpress
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 545
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo mounting for 3D

IMO, putting the servos about 2-3" behind the wing on most foamies yields a better moving foamy. More mass around the tail will allow it to whip around better in spins
Xpress is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:55 PM.