Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Some advise with batteries, etc...

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Some advise with batteries, etc...

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2012, 10:26 AM
Fikeies

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some advise with batteries, etc...

Hey guys, I'm new to setting up a gasser and have a few questions. I've done some searching around and have come up with so many different opinions that I'm a little confused on setting up my Switches/Batteries.

Pilot Yak 54 w/ DLE 30

Planning on using 6.6 VLIFE battery for ignition but not sure what mAh?
Do I need a voltage regulator for the DLE 30?

Hitec Servo's - want to use at 6.0 Volts

Also thinking of using 6.6V LIFE battery for electronics.
What mAh?
Voltage regulator?

Thinking of using Dual Miracle switch.

If you think any of the above is a mistake or if I am missing something, I'd greatly appreciate the advice.

Thanks

Old 02-22-2012, 11:00 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 354 Likes on 284 Posts
Default RE: Some advise with batteries, etc...

I'm going to tell you my opinion and whats been working for me for oh, several hundred flights on 3 50cc airplanes.

Got to WrongwayRC.com and get a single A123 2200mah pack with dual outputs and an ignition voltage drop down. Run two HD JR switches, one goes to the receiver, one goes to the diode (voltage reducer) and then on to the ignition.

Get an A123 (LiFe) capable charger, I use a CellPro 4S and charge every 4 or 5 flights.

Hitec servos will take the 6.6v w/o a regulator and the diode will drop the output to the ignition down to a safe voltage for the DLE ignition
Old 02-22-2012, 12:07 PM
ThumbSkull
My Feedback: (57)

a123 all around.
Get ahold of Richard at WWRC. He won't steer you wrong.
Old 02-22-2012, 03:36 PM
zacharyR
My Feedback: (5)