Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Twist 60 knife edge?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Twist 60 knife edge?

Old 09-09-2012, 06:24 AM
stevegauth30

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Twist 60 knife edge?

I recently maidened my twist 60, and after adding some lead to the tail and getting it balanced as best I can, it flies nice and level either upright or inverted, but really hard to knife edge. I have planes with much less 3d Capability that will knife edge a lot better. Does any one else notice that, or is it my set up is off? Other than that no complaints.great flying plane.
Old 09-09-2012, 08:07 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 173 Likes on 149 Posts
Default RE: Twist 60 knife edge?

What exactly does it do when you try knife?
Old 09-09-2012, 08:16 AM
stevegauth30

Now I'm pretty new to 3D flying, but I have been flying for a few years. I have an edge 540 that will knife for ever. It just won't hold it. It either wants to roll, or turn, or something. It's probably a mixture of my lack of skill, and  a new plane. Does  it have anything. To do with the over size wing? Man that thing is big. My expo is set at  65 and every thing else is good.
Old 09-09-2012, 11:49 AM
speedracerntrixie

It sounds like you have some control cross coupling. Most of this is design but is also influenced by CG. What most aerobatic airplanes do is when rudder is applied you will also get a pitch change. My guess is that it is pitching towards the landing gear. Moving the CG forward will help that situation. You can employ a mix to fine tune. The roll couple is a dihedral thing. Other then changing the dihedral this can be delt with using a mix as well.

All this is dependant on the fact that the airplane is built strait in the first place. Make sure the wing and stab are level.
Old 09-09-2012, 12:22 PM
stevegauth30