Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Old 06-11-2004, 04:39 AM
  #26  
SENZA
Senior Member
 
SENZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BRADFORD, MA
Posts: 435
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

IGNORE THAT SCOOBIE GUY , WOW thats allot of weight . all i can say is i used the stick on weights and placed my batt and rx as far forward as possible.see if you cant install the batt above the fuel tank that may help? inch wise how far back are you from the leading edge you might have you cg to far forward?
SENZA is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:21 PM
  #27  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

haha bill. so are we on for flying sunday?? i want to see you crash..er, ah, fly your new seagull extra. its supposed to be nice, and if the mailman is nice he will bring my futaba hat i ordered to keep the sun outa my eyes! me and billy jr are planning on flying tomorrow, you in?? greenland is the place.

sean
ifixairplanes is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:45 PM
  #28  
Stall Speed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Millington, MI
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

[&:] I'm thinking about putting a YS 91 on the Seagull 300 extra. Anyone have any input on this ?
Stall Speed is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:23 PM
  #29  
BasinBum
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 5,839
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

From everything on this thread I think this plane must be a real POS. Everyones came out tail heavy and to much wing loading. Not one person said it has good slow speed charecteristics and it's an Extra. If you think an Extra that has to fly fast is a good plane you are fooling yourself.
BasinBum is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:31 PM
  #30  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

i just got my gp extra 300s flying, its the .40 size. it flies very well with an OS .70 surpasss in the nose. It balanced perfectly without weight with that engine. it flies fast, lands fairly slow and is just a sweet heart at the sticks. i think it is much better then the seagull one. BB did make a good point.

sean
ifixairplanes is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:46 PM
  #31  
3littlefonzies
Senior Member
 
3littlefonzies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

i had the graupner 300s with patty wagstaff scheme. it is the same plane as the seagull model. i had to land it at like 50 mph . if I tried to land smooth anl slow it would pancake with NO warning. flying then dropping like a rock. i lost it due to a a turn from with the wind to come back into wind for approach, it tipstalled and spiraled to the ground. I did though like flying it fast . Snap rolls like a BIOCH. just wont slow down
3littlefonzies is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 07:21 AM
  #32  
Luizinho
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Finally I remove my engine MVVS 49, because the plane steel with his heavy tail. I bought the Evolution 61 NT and balance perfect with out any weight. This weekend i will fly it. I also forwarded all the servos tray, I replace the aluminum push road for pull-pull system and I am using only one servo for the elevator. That way I got the perfect balance.
Luizinho is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 09:29 AM
  #33  
BasinBum
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 5,839
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Luizinho,
I think it will perform better now that you have removed weight. I would also take off the wheel pants and look for any other options to make the plane lighter.
BasinBum is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:43 PM
  #34  
Luizinho
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Ohhhh yes, know it flies very nice. The engine es perfect, even that the engine have runed only 6 tanks before it toke off, that plane with the evolution 61 NT have a good vertical. The plane have a good balance and now i like very much this extra 300 and this evolution 61 NT. Ahh !!!! I used 12x6 APC propeller.
Luizinho is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 09:11 AM
  #35  
CaptainKlunk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Anyone have a Saito 100 in one of these Seagull Extras? If so how does it fly? What is the best 12 oz tank for this model? Need a tank that will fit without cutting out too much of the plywood former. Does everyone mount the four strokes horizontal? Anyone mount one upside down?
CaptainKlunk is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 07:18 PM
  #36  
dannny745
Senior Member
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: bethpage, NY
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

hey guys keep in mind this is a 60-90-aircraft check
hereHORIZON HOBBY, INC. - Extra 300s .60 ARF
http://horizon.hobbyshopnow.com/prod...p?prod=SEA2025
dannny745 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:20 PM
  #37  
CaptainKlunk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Horizon says that the Seagull Extra is good for a .65 to a 1.00. One doesn't have to run wide open all the time, however, sometime it is beneficial to have the extra power.
CaptainKlunk is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 09:03 PM
  #38  
CButzin
Junior Member
 
CButzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Pleasant, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

i got a satio 100 in my i need to put the fire wall back a little to fit the satio in so the cowl would fit right. need like 5oz on the front of it. cg at 4 in a F. and i was a great fly plane slow down nice to land. I think my new fav. plane to take to the field.
CButzin is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 09:38 PM
  #39  
dannny745
Senior Member
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: bethpage, NY
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

mine is very snappy.what s the cg you guys have it at ?
dannny745 is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 06:19 PM
  #40  
no1speshal
My Feedback: (1)
 
no1speshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Okeechobee, FL
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Hello All,
How is everybody flying out there? I just "inherated" this plane from a friend that said that he would never get around to flying it...because...get this...it is too hot outside! Yeah, I know, too hot.

Anyway, I am very pleased with it so far. He already had a Tower Hobbies 75 up front with a Brison exhaust and a Futaba flight pack, which goes along great with my 9CAP! SO, I haven't flown the thing yet, as I just got it yeasterday. Where have you all balanced this thing at? The manual states that it should be 4cm from the wing tips. Is that about right? Also, I already have it programmed with flaperons and ailevators. What else have you guys done?

I was just wondering what you all had to say, so any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks everybody!!!


Red
no1speshal is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:47 PM
  #41  
SENZA
Senior Member
 
SENZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BRADFORD, MA
Posts: 435
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Hey no1 I have mine set at about 3 1/2 inches back, i spoke to some other guys on other treads and they set theirs back at 4 inches im going to give it a try,when i can get a chance ive been flying my newest bird a aero works 540T what a sweet plane. besides i will end up losing a few ounces this way because at 3 1/2 i had to add 4 ounces and it lands hot. its a fun flyer! good luck Bill
SENZA is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 06:14 AM
  #42  
CButzin
Junior Member
 
CButzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Pleasant, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

mines a 4 in and it lands it self[X(] well all most
CButzin is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:14 PM
  #43  
CButzin
Junior Member
 
CButzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Pleasant, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

here a pic
CButzin is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 11:48 PM
  #44  
CrashMeister
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA (Smyrna)
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Hi, I've just helped a friend build one of these. We flew it yesterday and today.

After reading up about tail heaviness, we did the following:

1. Removed the installed engine mount and filled the holes with epoxy mixed with milled fiberglass.
2. Installed a GP 1.20 size adjustable mount for an inverted engine installation (OS .91 Fourstroke).
3. Used a Hitec HS-81 servo mounted in the switch location in the servo tray for throttle.
4. Used Hitec 425BB servos for each elevator half and for each aileron; a Futaba 9202 for the rudder.
5. Tossed the supplied tailwheel stuff and used a Sullivan instead.
6. Tossed the supplied fuel tank and used a 12oz Dubro instead (need to cut a little to get it in).
7. Used a piece of light ply to create a shelf under the engine box for the battery (5 cell 1650mah NiMH).
8. Tossed the supplied wheels and used Sullivan Skylite 2.5". I recommend using 2.75". The wheelpants cannot be used with the bigger wheels.

When mounting the engine, we moved it forward on the longer (GP) mount, so we also had to move the cowl forward a bit. No problems doing that. With an inverted engine installation, the cowl stays looking nice.

Control surfaces are set up as follows: Ailerons: 25 degrees up and down; Elevator: 13 degrees up and down (does not snap when elevator is pulled hard at this setting); Rudder: Set so that rudder is parallel with edge of elevator at full deflection.
Expo: 35% all round. Next time out we'll increase the expo on the rudder to about 65% for more subtle yaw adjustments.

No added dead weight at all. Using a spinner nut, not a spinner.

After two days of flying this plane I can report that it tracks very well, does great knife-edge and in my opinion makes a really good entry level IMAC plane (Basic class). The only issue I have is that the snaps rolls are way too fast. These are not done in Basic, so no problem there. With the OS .91 FS it has more than enough power.

Very good value for $$$ indeed.

Regards,
Craig.
CrashMeister is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 12:06 PM
  #45  
bubbagates
My Feedback: (32)
 
bubbagates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 8,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Are you guys still setting this at the wing tip or at the fuse. The manual says the tip...just curious
bubbagates is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 06:28 PM
  #46  
bubbagates
My Feedback: (32)
 
bubbagates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 8,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

So where did the balance come out at. and did you measure it at the wing tip or fuse
bubbagates is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:06 PM
  #47  
CButzin
Junior Member
 
CButzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Pleasant, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

4 in at fuse
CButzin is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 10:01 PM
  #48  
bobzilla
My Feedback: (63)
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

Nosed in my first flight Seagull Extra 300. At first take off...was great..no trim needed at all (CG at 4 fuselage). Then all of a sudden plane became almost all uncontrollable, but I was able to get to ground. After checking out all servos etc, found the HOT GLUED servo tray came loose..even after placing extra CA.
I notified company (SEAGULL) but did not get any response. I went over rest of plane and epoxied, added triangle stock to every area I could reach.
bobzilla is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:16 PM
  #49  
sledman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

How was the power of the OS .60, or was it to unbalanced to fly confidently enough for that type of evaluation? I have an almost new OS .60 SF that I am looking for a plane to put it in.....................

ORIGINAL: Luizinho

Yesterday I flew my Extra with this O.S. 60. My tail still to heavy. It need a lot of weight to balance it. Should I use weight or shoul I change the engine ?
sledman is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 05:51 PM
  #50  
CButzin
Junior Member
 
CButzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Pleasant, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Models' s Extra 300S

bobzilla

i have the same thing will the servo tray i just put some epoxied and triangle stock and it was ok


sledman

i think a 60 will fly it. i put a satio 100 in my plane and i still need add 4 ounces put i had to put the fire wall back about a 1/2 in to get the satio in right.
CButzin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.