Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

New Plane, Which Engine?

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

New Plane, Which Engine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2004, 03:45 PM
Arnold Schwarzenegger
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Plane, Which Engine?

Hey people how are you!?

First, of all, I would like to thank everone in California who voted for me as their governor, I really won't disappoint you.

I bought a Hangar 9 FuntanaS 3D 40 ARF and I was wondering if you could help me choose and engine for it.

I havve about 3 years of experience in the hobby and I have had my trainer(Superstar) and my second plane which was a Sig 4star.

I am leaned towards a 4 stroke, and since it is my first time with them, I would like some help because I do not know much about their brands and quality and such. Please keep 2 strokes out of the subject.

Thank you all in advance and long live California!
Old 05-02-2004, 08:16 PM
flyinrazrback
My Feedback: (69)

Default RE: New Plane, Which Engine?

I would go with a YS 63 with cool power 30% heli fuel, apc 14x4W prop, or also the new saito .82 with the same fuel and prop as listed above. I like the YS personally, just because it has a pump.
Old 05-03-2004, 01:44 AM
pizza
My Feedback: (24)

4 strokes don't work for 3d, just like that california vehicle registration tax
Old 05-03-2004, 04:42 AM
Dickymint

I have ordered the Saito 91 for my Funtana. It depends how you wan't to fly it. The recommended Saito 72 will be fine for stooging around and most 3D stuff but the 91 will give lots of vertical power and good punch out from the hover. I fly electric 3D foamies which have great power to weight ratios, and thats what I want with te Funtana.
Old 05-03-2004, 08:12 AM
pizza