Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Radio mixing for knife edge

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Radio mixing for knife edge

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2004, 10:24 PM
1911fan
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio mixing for knife edge

Hi All,
I tried searching the site and viewing topics in the radio section with no luck so I hope this the right place to post this. I have been flying a Morris Hobbies Topcat and a H9 Texan for a couple of months, and this week I added a H9 J-3 Cub with a Satio GK.56. Every mag review of a 3D plane mentions knife edge flight and "coupling" between the pitch and roll axis. They often state that you can progam a mix to aviod this or just fly and manually trim it out. What I am unclear about is what mix are they referring to and what two surfaces do you adjust? For example I have a Mix set up for my J-3 cub that adds 40% rudder to the Ailerons to make scale like turns. When you push the right stick to the left, it adds a little left rudder. Very simple, it works very well and that plane is very easy to fly. But on a 3D plane how do you create a mix that allows you to fly straight knife edge that does not affect normal stick inputs when your flying the plane around? For example, My topcat will fly knife edge with full throttle and full rudder and I can direct it its path by using the elevator to bank it toward or away from the pit. If I set up a mix, like the magazines talk about what am I attempting to do? And also what happens if this mix is active all the time and I am doing 3D stuff and tossing the plane around? On the cub its simple because its a Sunday flyer and never on its back or vertical. I just want to learn how these mixes work to see if I am flying my Topcat to its potential. BTW- I have a Futaba 7CAP and a O.S. .46AX on my plane with a APC 12.25x 3.75 prop.