Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 81 of 90 FirstFirst ... 31717980818283 ... LastLast
Results 2,001 to 2,025 of 2248

  1. #2001

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I have finally decided what elevator set-up I will use. I am going with a single servo and linking the elevator halves together with a carbon rod. I have some questions though. I see the triangle blocks in the corner of the elevator I assume I need to drill but I am not sure how far into the elevator halves I need to go? How close to the leading edge of the elevator should I drill, I can't get too close to the edge as I will interfere with the CA hinges. What keeps the rod from just turning in the opposite half? Once I get everything ready how do I get the rod in and the CA hinges?

    As you can see at this point I have more questions than answers. Anyone out there that can help? Pictures would be great!!!

  2. #2002
    Nitro-Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Florida, FL
    Posts
    586
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    All good questions which is why I personally did not go that way.

    Also I felt the "Stiffy" carbon rod solution was more for smaller, lighter electric only planes....not high power 3D stuff.......as evidenced by the fact this "Product" (The stiffy) never made it to market that I could see.

    Here are all the PICs of the stiffy I have, hope this helps, and you can always go with the Dave Brown pushrod......the same basic setup as stock, just a better rod for $8-$12

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xv64162.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	13.3 KB 
ID:	1067631   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wr54389.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	29.4 KB 
ID:	1067632   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yd82515.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	32.8 KB 
ID:	1067633   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ib82354.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	24.5 KB 
ID:	1067634   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Al72572.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	24.2 KB 
ID:	1067635  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hy34386.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	33.5 KB 
ID:	1067636  
    Nitro - Tom
    General R/C Addict

  3. #2003

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Well, ......I did the single conversion by drilling and connecting the elevator halves with a 5mm carbon rod. The epoxy is drying as I type.

    I first drilled each halve the same size as the rod but found out that with this tight fit there was no way to get the elevator halves to line of correctly. I re-drilled an over-size (6.5mm) hole and filled with epoxy. I am hoping the epoxy fills the gaps and grips the rod well enough. The carbon rod is 5" long and penetrate both triangle blocks 2", this is a lot of surface area so I think the epoxy should hold well.

    Now I need to make the decision on where to place the elevator servo? I am having a hard time justify cutting the fuselage when there is already a perfectly good servo tray with a couple of empty slots. Any reason to place it at the rear instead of in the servo tray?

  4. #2004
    KWJ48's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    479
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?


    ORIGINAL: Blazer1


    Now I need to make the decision on where to place the elevator servo? I am having a hard time justify cutting the fuselage when there is already a perfectly good servo tray with a couple of empty slots. Any reason to place it at the rear instead of in the servo tray?

    I put the servo in the tail just to keep the rods short mainly. I would think the tray would be ok. There should be plenty of room to move the battery around if balance issues occur.
    PRO BRO #2567

  5. #2005

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I think I will put the servo in the tray and use quality rods to minimize deflection. I will be using a Satio 82 for power so I don't think I will have a problem with it being nose heavy, even with the servo in the stock location. Is this correct or will I need the elevator servo in the rear of the fuselage for balance?

  6. #2006
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    With the Saito 82 you can have the elevator servo in the stock position. Any fine tuning of your balance can be done with your RX batt placement.
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  7. #2007
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    A little delayed on this response, but I just read your post. As far as the Aeroworks edge 540 VS the Fliton Extra 330. I have both, but have not finished the extra yet. I'm retiring the edge and putting the Saito 100 on the extra. It's going to be extremely hard for this to be a better plane than the edge. The edge is really the best plane this size I have ever flown. Mine is just pain wore out. Easily 100 + hardcore, you shouldnt do that to your plane, 3D flights, and too many crash repairs. If this plane even comes close I'll be a happy camper, and all the reviews seem to say it will be better. Specs tend to agree as well. Unfortunately the quality of Aeroworks is seen nowhere in this fliton kit (mainly refering to hardware) or customer service. Of course there seems to be no customer support for fliton. There were parts missing from my kit, and I got no response to 5 emails, never got through on the phone. It was all hardware, which I replaced, but thats not the point. However, the plane looks so good, when you open the box you can overlook this. Lets hope the flight is as good.

    I am not going to use the "Y" for elevators. Going to put 2 servos in the tail.

    1st thing I did, was to throw the CA hinges in the trash. They will not hold up long to hardcore 3D in this plane.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  8. #2008

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I have my Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle completed except for the engine, Santa is bringing me a Saito 82! Yes, even being a grown man with children I still believe in Santa. If I had it to do over again I would not buy a Fliton product! yes, the plane is beautiful and flies great(from what I hear) but there are to many arf companies out there giving quality product support it is unfair to not support them. My arf was missing much of the hardware and what was there was incorrect. My canopy was damaged and a couple of weeks ago I ordered a new one from the Fliton store, it looks like I will not get the canopy or the money back. If you search you will find many people complaining about this very issue. So, I have a new Fliton Extra 330 that I may never get to fly because I can't find a canopy. I only blame myself for not researching Fliton before I ordered the plane.

  9. #2009
    Nitro-Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Florida, FL
    Posts
    586
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    You can get your canapy from Advantage Hobby on Dec 30th they are due in stock for $5

    FLNEXTCNP033

    http://www.advantagehobby.com

    Hope they are going to put an end to the poor service issues with Fliton and give this awesome plane a home we can count on...they seem to be stocking parts and I have a fiberglass cowl and an entire Kit on backorder with them, so we will see.

    In the mean time I gave up on Fliton like the rest of you and got this seagull models edge 540 and it flys nice....but I will wait for another Extra 330S and the parts so after repair I will have 2......one that files, and one part machine....Or I may set one up for pattern and the other for 3D?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nl29193.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	71.9 KB 
ID:	1081704  
    Nitro - Tom
    General R/C Addict

  10. #2010
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I'm still reading through the pages, but what seems to be the winning method for securing the hatch? Thanks, Jim.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  11. #2011

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Rare earth magnets glued in each corner seem to be a popular and simple solution for securing the hatch. I have yet to attach mine but I think that is the method I will use. I also read about using a rubber band from the inside pulling down on the hatch, look through the Pulse XT 60 thread, it was listed as a solution for holding the hatch on that plane.

  12. #2012
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    It is looking like magnets, or the dubro latches. I have some EP plane carcus's I can salvage the magnets from. Thanks.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  13. #2013
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Does anyone with the inverted Saito 100 install have a template for the firewall mount bolts, or know where I can get one? I made a template from my Aeroworks edge 540, but it comes with a slotted engine mount (adjustable), and the holes are too close together for the extras mounts. I would just use the adjustable mounts, but they are kinda worn, and starting to distort. Plus the edge wasnt an exact side mount, its between sidemount and inverted. Cant get it to line up with that template. Thanks, Jim.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  14. #2014
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    DOH! Just noticed the mark on the engine mounts that is in line with the crankshaft. Got a template made, so disregard.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  15. #2015
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Jimeni ... with a SA100 remember to reinforce the firewall. I am pretty sure you will be beaming from ear to ear when you fly that baby. I seen her fly on that engine and the power is spectacular!
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  16. #2016
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Thanks. I've also discovered Vess sport props are incredible. I have an 18x6 on a 26cc gas engine. They are almost silent, dont cavitate when hovering, lite, and spool up fast. Going to put a 15x6 on the 100, should rock. I was beaming when I took it out of the box and put the wings on it. Check the props out at http://www.eastrc.org/shop.cgi/page=...30901930.18396 they are very nice looking props too, pictures dont do them justice.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  17. #2017
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Jimeni ... the Vess props look interesting! Anyways, something crossed my mind ... how about anti vibration mounts? Those with the isolators against the firewall? Would that be good to reduce the vibration of the SA100? I doubt I can move on mine soon, got other projects to work on first.
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  18. #2018
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I'm going to try the stock mounts 1st. I had the 100 in a similar size and weight Aeroworks edge 540, it did just fine. I balance my props to where they will stay in place at all clock positions, takes a while, but makes a huge difference. I also balance the spinner, contrary to advertisements, Tru-Turns are nowhere near balanced from the factory. Maybe its the balancing of spinner and prop, but the 100 really doesnt have alot of vibration, seems to me. The anti vibration mounts are nice, but boy are they heavy. I really appreciate your input, I still have alot to learn, keep the ideas coming. Thanks.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  19. #2019
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Jimeni ... I got this bad habit of NOT balancing my props, time to really buck up. I can hear my EP props fluttering at times. Better go buy a prop balancer today.
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  20. #2020
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I didnt use to balance EP props either, until I had the whole front end of a foamie Yak come off, in flight. Wasnt the firewall either, came off at the wing leading edge. It was actually pretty cool looking to watch though. Too bad there was no fire
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  21. #2021
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I set one EP plane on fire before, it was interesting. Had a crash, did not throttle off, so the ESC cooks. As I walked over, a little smoke comes out, then more and people were shouting. When I got there the flames just started. Luckily, the firewall broke so I kicked and stamped till it broke off completely.

    I am off to the LHS now, time to get the prop balancer! Have agood weekend flying and building!!!
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  22. #2022

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Kannapolis, NC
    Posts
    7,415
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Unless I am reading wrong this is a must have kit?
    smooth as silk!

  23. #2023
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Have not flown mine yet, but sounds that way.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  24. #2024
    KWJ48's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    479
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?


    ORIGINAL: krayzc-RCU

    Unless I am reading wrong this is a must have kit?

    I really like mine. I hope to never totaly destroy it. Very agile, and smooth to fly.
    PRO BRO #2567

  25. #2025
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    ORIGINAL: krayzc-RCU

    Unless I am reading wrong this is a must have kit?
    Yeah ... no kidding ... its really great to fly. It really is that good for a 40 sized aerobatic plane. There is not much to sort out, maybe if you are fussy then some of the hardware only. Its one of the best I have flown, planes like the Funtana 90, Funtana 40 cannot come close to it. She flies smooth, goes where you point her, no real nasty habits, light enough and you can swear she will KE with almost NO coupling if you get the set up/CG right.

    If not for my Sebart Angel, I would have built my Extra, both are about the same so no point getting it up yet.
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232


Page 81 of 90 FirstFirst ... 31717980818283 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.