3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Reply
Old 01-05-2009, 10:44 PM
  #2026
krayzc-RCU
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I will be ordering this deal tomorrow![8D][8D][8D]
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:20 PM
  #2027
maineflyer
 
maineflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fort Fairfield, ME
Posts: 758
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

krazyc-rcu,
I have a Saito 1.00 on mine and actually bought/traded a buddy for one he started so I would have a second one to have for parts or to build. It flys that good. I have 3 25-30% planes and this plane flys as big as they do. It presents very well and just is so easy to fly. The arf is kind of a PITA to assemble but it is totally worth it. Especially if you keep it light.
Jeff
maineflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:45 PM
  #2028
krayzc-RCU
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Quote:
========= ORDER INFORMATION =========
Invoice Number : 30328
Description : Extra 330S Freestyle (ARF) Total : US $204.68 Payment Method : Visa
now we are talking I am on it!!!!!!
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 05:14 PM
  #2029
Blazer1
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Who has these in stock? Can you get parts for them?
Blazer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:35 PM
  #2030
krayzc-RCU
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

parts yes
kits yes
link yes below

www.espritmodel.com

mine will be here on Thursday...... with the power of google u can find anything get with it
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:48 PM
  #2031
danny31292
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 230
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Does anyone have a cowl they're willing to sell. I can not find them anywhere.
danny31292 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:23 AM
  #2032
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hello All,

I just got this plane based on a recommendation for an very experienced pilot of mine. He's going to help me with the build.

I was wondering what you all would recommend for engine? I've heard a lot of you talking about the saito's particularly the 100. But mentioning the vibration.

Will it perform best with this engine? Is it worth the risk, or would another engine perform nearly as well?

2 strokes? Or just stick with 4 strokes?

OS, vs Saito?

Thanks for any advice or help you can give with these questions as they pertain to this plane.

I'm going to read through this huge thread, but in the meantime, thanks. BTW, sounds like this is one great plane to own for the class and money, huh? can't wait to get her up and going

Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 06:36 AM
  #2033
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Tim ... with the Saito 100 its amazing fun as I have seen. I flew on a Saito 72 and that was great fun for aerobatic and mild 3D. I did try a TT61 2C but that was lousy, the engine is heavy. If you are not crazy into 3D then a 70 sized 4C on 25% fuels is great fun. For 2C maybe, maybe the OS55 will be a good choice.
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:51 PM
  #2034
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Go with the Saito 100. If you balance your prop, and spinner, you will notice no serious vibration. I dont know where everyone sees vibration on this engine. Maybe I got lucky, maybe not everyone balances enough. Could be a little of both. Mine purrs like a kitten. I can look at the control surfaces at idle, and they are not bouncing, or anywhere through the throttle range for that matter. I have a Saito 180, now thats a different story, it vibrates like crazy at idle. The smaller saito's do not seem to have this issue, my 125 is smooth also. Sure the 100 vibrates a little more than a 2 cycle, but the benefits far out weigh the cons. Lighter, more torque, look, and sound much better. Also I ran my 100 on a same size Aeroworks edge 540, using 15% nitro, it was awesome. I think you will find for this weight plane, anything over 15% nitro will be a waste of money.

Also, where did you find one in stock?
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:58 PM
  #2035
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I got mine at Hobby zone. It was out of stock and would occaisonally show up in stock. As soon as it did I put it in my cart. Seems like these fly off the shelves as soon as their ready, huh?

Thanks for the info on the engines guys. I appreciate it.

Would you mess with any other 4c or just the saitos?
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:46 PM
  #2036
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Some guys prefer YS. Cant say personally, never had 1. I love my Saito engines. Run great, very reliable, and easy to tune.
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 12:24 AM
  #2037
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Jimeni ... the vibration is not the engine problem but the way the Extra has been built, its meant to be light so that it can accommodate EP. The reinforcement is not much, just some CA and some balsa tri stock, if you feel like you wanna go the extra mile then some 1/2 oz glass will do the job after you trickle CA.

Tim ... the YS62 is lovely, I heard some crazy guy in Singapore put in a YS110, I have not seen it but I heard some a pal who saw it. I think that would be nuts, imagine a 16x6 prop on that plane. Crazy man!
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:14 PM
  #2038
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I used 30 minute epoxy and tri-stock. She wont come apart, except in pieces. The Funtana X100 was built very light also, had to do the same reinforcements to it.

Did you guys measure CG upright or inverted?
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:30 PM
  #2039
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Jimeni ... I measured mine upright ...
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 12:27 AM
  #2040
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey Guys

Fouund a good price on a saito 100 it's on its way!

On the servos, I was wondering if you guys thought any of these would be ok. I have an airtronics 94357. It's the same as in these pictures
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...357-servo.html

Then I have a Futaba s3003
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXH288

and I have 2 of these from hobby king
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...sp?idProduct=2

I have a friend helping me that was recommending hitecs 475, based on me wanting to save some cash. He was originally suggesting the 225's for the twin elevators.

Just wondering if anyone is familiar enough with these servos to give a recommendation one way or another
Thanks
Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 10:14 AM
  #2041
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I havent used these servos, but looking at the specs. The airtronics should be a great servo, its weight is nice, would be awesome on the rudder.

The Futaba's are too slow for 3D application, but would work on ailerons.

The hobby city servos are very nice, have some myself, but for a much larger plane, big overkill on weight and torque for this plane, but of course will work.

Just my opinion, and I am a 3D fan always looking at weight. Adds up quick as I'm sure you know.

Planes this size scream for DS821's. Good weight, great speed, good torque, very durable, very good centering, and very well priced. I think hobby city has equivelent servos much cheaper, but havent used them. I mainly use their HXT's in foamies, and electrics.

Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:27 AM
  #2042
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey Guys

I'm getting mine all put together and am getting there, but I'm having a few issues.

1) the Black Nylon Cleavises that came for the rudder control horns, DON'T fit the threads of the wire housing. I can use one of the metal cleavises they have, but that doesn't secure firmly on the horn, since they have that bearing in it, making it far too think for it to snap closed

2) How do set up this pushrod elevator system?? I have the holes cut out pretty well, but I can't get it to line up to where it push smoothly through. I think I may have cut the wires too short, but if so, then they had the wood dowel WAY too long. With my wires being so short, the angle is sharper so it is butting up against the opening more.

3) I've noticed on some of your planes, (in the photos) that you have set up the black control horns they give you, WITHOUT the cap on the top of the wing, and/or elevator. Did you just use screws instead of bolts and go into the wood? Is this secure enough?

4) I have the saito 100, and I see you all pretty much put it upside down. I guess this is the best way to mount it? Any tricks you have to do when doing so?

Thanks for your help
Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:10 AM
  #2043
maineflyer
 
maineflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fort Fairfield, ME
Posts: 758
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

If you are doing the stock elevators (I have them on my current one) you tie your wire rods in to the wooden rod and cut holes in the tail of the plane where they need to exit and tie them in. I have another Extra NIB and the next will have 2 225s in the tail for elevators. (Just like the short control rods and control of the plane with that set up. I have a Saito 1.00 inverted with a turbo header http://www.rcuniverse.com/market/item.cfm?itemId=465588 on it. This keeps the muffler in tight and allows it to fit nicely inside the cowl. I also ran a remote glow back into the fuse so I could start the plane without having to try to hook the glow plug igniter underneath each flight. If I were to build another one right now and save money I would look for some good used 225s for the elevators, and throttle and a decent servo for the rudder and run it all on 6 vt. I used the servos that came with my DX-7 for all but rudder which has a 5945 on it if I remember right. It is my 4th plane but flies so well I bought the second from a friend that he started so I would have a back up.
Jeff
maineflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 10:02 PM
  #2044
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey Jeff

Can you send me pics of how's yours is set up? I can't get mine to reach at an angle that works.

Do they work ok in practice? Strengthwise?

Was the wood rod they gave you too long out of the box?

Thanks!
Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 11:58 PM
  #2045
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey, I got it going now. I cut them too far up the first time! Guess I'll have to patch that... bummer.

How did you all secure the hatch and canopy? Just screws?
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 03:19 PM
  #2046
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey Guys,

How do I get this hatch to stay in place? Did you guys use magnets? Some other method??

Thanks!
Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 04:29 PM
  #2047
Falcon32
 
Falcon32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Neath, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Yep, magnets will do it.
Makes sure though that they are the Rare Earth Neodymium type - Very strong !!!!
Falcon32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 04:35 PM
  #2048
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Ok, I'll get some of those then.

What about the engine, any last tips for getting that on right. I have a saito 100. I was going to go inverted since it looks nicer, but it sounds like more of a pain in the ass, getting to the needle and glow plug etc
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 12:14 AM
  #2049
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Ok guys,

I'm working on mounting the saito 100 inverted. I filed down the mounting bracket as mentioned in another post, becuase the engine bottoms out on one spot. I had to file it down this far (see photos) to get it to seat properly. Is this going to be ok to the integrity of the mount?

Thanks
Tim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xu62357.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	1124601   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq51865.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	1124602  
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 10:09 AM
  #2050
Falcon32
 
Falcon32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Neath, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

trpastor

I think all the Saito 100 users had to make a small mod to the engine mount.
I think your mount will be OK, but whatever you do, don’t take any more material away as to my mind I think it’s a little weak for the 100 anyway. I had a heavy landing some time ago due to a dead stick and it snapped both beams of the mount clean in half. So it’s not the back plates that are week.
Where are you positioning the cowl?
If you mount it up to but not over the fuselage first former this will leave you more space to mount the engine a little further forward. I know some people put the cowl right up to the hatch and then had to mount the engine father back to get a nice small gap between spinner and cowl.
Falcon32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:07 PM.