Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 87 of 90 FirstFirst ... 37778586878889 ... LastLast
Results 2,151 to 2,175 of 2248

  1. #2151
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I have 6 screws in my cowl. 2 on each side, and 1 on top and bottom. Looks and holds great.

    The easiest way to cover the holes is with decals, if their location permits. You could also span a decal from fuselage onto the cowl. Same color ultracote is an option. Otherwise, good luck matching the paint.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  2. #2152

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yarmouk, KUWAIT
    Posts
    23
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    thanks Jimeni , i`ll get the battery and see what happens. and as u said if its too big i`ll go with a smaller one u can never have enought lipos :P

  3. #2153

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Hey Guys

    So how should the saito 100 be sounding, and idling on this plane? I'm wondering if mine is in good condition or not. It vibrates a LOT in idle and spits and sputters in idle (and also needs a pretty fast idle to say idle without dying. Enough that it jogs down the runway in idle)

    the whole plane shankes back and forth and vibrates a lot. Is this just to be expected witha saito 100?

    thanks
    Tim

  4. #2154
    tIANci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
    Posts
    10,489
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Tr ... try to lean the low end just a smidge ... but that engine does vibrate a bit.
    Its nice to be important, but its more important to be nice ...
    Revver Brotherhood No. 232

  5. #2155
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Definately lean your idle some. A rich idle vibrates alot. If you take your time balancing and tuning, you will not have an issue with vibration. Remember to balance the spinner too. Again, if you are vibrating that much, something is wrong, whether its just tuning or balancing. NO PROPS OR SPINNERS COME BALANCED ENOUGH, NONE OF THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Balance blades 1st, then hub. Also use at least 15% nitro. If this engine normally vibrated planes apart, they would not sell like hotcakes.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  6. #2156
    STG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Richmond, WI
    Posts
    3,518
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    My SA100/FL330 does not vibrate that bad. It does idle down nicely. I run 5-15%nitro. I am comparing it to YS110 on 68 yak. I like the smoothness of the two strokes (OS32,55,91,120,160).
    Good Flying to you!
    See Blog for RCU Video\'s

  7. #2157

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,731
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Yeah, I was about to say that my Saito 100 doesn't vibrate much at all....and I'm still breaking it in. I mean, take the wings off and good luck keeping it from vibrating...but the engine runs like a top as far as I'm concerned. It's almost as smooth as my 46AX.
    Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm.

  8. #2158
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Finally, I was starting to think I was the only one in here who didnt have a vibrating 100.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  9. #2159

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Ok, I'll try tweaking the needles and hopefully that will fix it. Thanks for your help guys. I'll keep you posted.

    Tim

  10. #2160
    badfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    swarthmore, PA
    Posts
    219
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    most saitos come sloppy rich on the low end. once its broken in. try leaning your low end needle. It should smooth out a bunch.

    steve

  11. #2161
    STG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Richmond, WI
    Posts
    3,518
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I have mine mounted inverted and have the low end as lean as possible. The down side to this is that on waterfalls I have had the motor quit with rapid increase & decrease in throttle.
    Good Flying to you!
    See Blog for RCU Video\'s

  12. #2162
    badfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    swarthmore, PA
    Posts
    219
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    key is finding a happy spot. I would definately put up with a little shaking over having a dead stick. another thing I do is listen for the rpm drop when removing the glow stick. the richer it is the more your rpms will drop.

    steve

  13. #2163
    STG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Richmond, WI
    Posts
    3,518
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?


    ORIGINAL: badfish

    key is finding a happy spot. I would definately put up with a little shaking over having a dead stick. another thing I do is listen for the rpm drop when removing the glow stick. the richer it is the more your rpms will drop.

    steve
    Yep, that is why I have it set so lean on the low end. Set up inverted and set lean, there is still a noticeable drop in RPM when glow is removed. As long as I don’t go full open/close/open/close/open real fast (as in fast waterfallβ€”this FL is capable of wicked fast WF’s[8D]) then I don’t have a problem.
    Good Flying to you!
    See Blog for RCU Video\'s

  14. #2164

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Well guys, It looks like my fliton days are over. I was doing some tinkering on it trying to get things worked out when I realized the plane is pretty much trashed. I was trying to start it the other day and was having those engine problems. Well, it backfired, rolled back and chipped the prop on the stand.

    Apparently when it did this it broke the engine box free of the fire wall AND the firewall is cracked at the top, clear across.

    Overall I have been very disappointed with this plane. It flew great the few times I got to fly it, but it was a huge pain to build, and fell apart not even in the air. How very disappointing that I will not get to see what it can do

  15. #2165

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Hey Jemini

    Is the aeroworks almost as fun to fly? Better built? Easier build? Is the saito 100 too much for it?

    I'm done with this POS, and need to move onto something else.
    Tim

  16. #2166
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    The Aeroworks edge is fine. I think if I had the money though, I would try the 60 to 90 Yak or Extra 260. You already have all the stuff. But you will not be dissapointed in the edge either. The Fliton does fly a bit better than the AW Edge, but from what I'm seeing, it will have nothing on the Extra or Yak.

    On your Fliton. Its wood, epoxy will fix it. It cant be that bad. If its just cracked, but still in place, put a piece of light ply, or thin balsa strip over the crack, and epoxy away. Add some tri stock to the engine box.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  17. #2167

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Thanks Jemini

    Did you have any issues with the aeroworks (breaking parts, weird fits etc, etc etc) that the fliton has?

    I'm just so sick of not even flying this thing and having to fix things every time out. Anyone want this before I bring an axe down on it?

  18. #2168
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Nope. The edge is a very straight forward build, with excellent parts, hardware, and instructions. The new Extra, and Yak are quick builds. You'll be flying in about 6 to 8 hours. Aeroworks, as an added bonus, has about the best customer service you can get. Not to mentiobn all the pretty ladies showing you the models
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  19. #2169

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,731
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I have the AW Extra 60-90 and I had the Fliton Edge. I like the AW Extra more than the Fliton once it's in the air. I like the AW WAYYY more than the fliton between box and air. I think that the AW flies much better than the Fliton
    Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm.

  20. #2170

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Hey Guys

    Here's some shots. You can see the tabs broke on the bottom. ANd the engine box broke away on both sides on the bottom.

    The top of the firewall (that the engine box is attached to) is giving, back and forth. Like it's soft.

    What do you think repair would entail on this?

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp43227.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	24.0 KB 
ID:	1147754   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yt63201.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	1147755   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ot48609.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	25.9 KB 
ID:	1147756  

  21. #2171

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    In case I decide not to fix it, anyone want to buy parts?

    I have wing set -
    fusealage - needs work : )

    Hatch
    canopy
    landing gear
    make offers
    I'll keep engine and electronics and use on something else

  22. #2172
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    I would cut the motor box completely loose, leaving remaining tabs intact. Clean off old epoxy edges, and get everything to a nice fit. Epoxy it on with more tristock where the tabs are broken, and probably several other spots. Fix crack as stated previously. From the pictures, I would say 1 to 1/2 hours work tops, it does not look that bad. When your done, it will be stronger than ever. Your plane has alot of life left. You already have it, use it up. Then you can take your time deciding on the replacement.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  23. #2173

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Do you mean cut the motor box free of the firewall, or just on the bottom 2 tabs?

    I was thinking I'd have to cut it off and put a new piece of ply over the whole firewall for reinforcement. But how to you get the motorbox secure to the firewall again without having any tabs? Is the tri stock and epoxy enough? I'm not been overly impressed with expoxy, but maybe i"ve been using it wrong

  24. #2174
    Jimeni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    West Carrollton, OH
    Posts
    1,275
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Remove the whole box from the fuselage and clean up old epoxy edges so you can get a clean, flush fit. Dont remove the remaining tabs. You can re epoxy the broken ones on for alignment if you want, but you will be able to tell where to place the box. Unless you put something through the tabs once they are through the bulkhead, they dont add that much strength anyways, they are mainly for alignment. Put a coat of epoxy down before you position the tristock, once in place, coat the tristock also. Tristock with epoxy in a corner is extremely strong. A flat end blade for your exacto will make removal easier. Just work it throught the gaps to seperate things. Heating up the wood and epoxy with a heat gun or blow dryer will help get through it big time. Remember, the motor box comes from the factory with about 25% of the tristock it needs, in my opinion.
    It was a glitch, a technical malfunction! Why wont anybody believe me?

  25. #2175

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

    Ok, so when I go to put it back on only the tri stock and epoxy would be holding it on? Should i put a thin piece of ply on the bulkhead before I reattach the enginebox to strenghten the whole thing?


Page 87 of 90 FirstFirst ... 37778586878889 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.