3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Reply
Old 03-01-2009, 04:15 PM
  #2176
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Yes, thats all that was holding it on anyways. The notches on the tabs help a little but not alot, more for engine box positioning. I would put a strip of thin ply on the crack, or just stop drill the crack on each end (keeps the crack from growing), and put epoxy on it, both sides. Put up a picture of the crack, there may be another way.
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 12:34 PM
  #2177
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey guys, my experienced builder friend helped me get it bandaged up to fly

ONE last PROBLEM... The weather is getting BEAUTIFUL for flying, BUT, I just found out my radio (spektrum Dx6i) has a recall for the pentiontiontotnoentoneontenot...meter (whatever the hell it is). And mine is exhibiting the problem. So I sent it in. Which leave me with my Dx5e.

This is a very manual radio. No expo. Has 1 dualrate (ele, ail, rudd same swtich). SOOO I'm dialing down the mechanical throws to very safe landing posistions. What do you think I should set the ele and ail to for landing (low rate)?
Thanks
TIm
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 01:12 PM
  #2178
Yogy
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yarmouk, KUWAIT
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

got my electric conversion flying it was nice !!! i`ll try to get pics and a video soon guys
Yogy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:43 PM
  #2179
Blazer1
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 318
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Recently I have had a chance to fly my Extra 330 Freestyle a lot,....... man I love this plane!!!! I am finally getting the bugs worked out of it and enjoying it for the great flying plane that it is. I am powering it with a Saito 82 and either a 14x6 APC or 14x6 MAS scimitar prop, have not decided which I like better. The Satio 82 is barely enough motor to hover but other than pull out is a nice fit for this plane. I have a Satio 100 that I will probably put on the Extra 330 Freestyle later this summer just to see the difference. I am by no means a 3D pilot but this plane really makes me look good! All the guys at the field have commented on how much better I am getting, truth is this plane makes me look good!! I see that many shops have the Extra 330 freestyle back in stock, maybe Fliton has not gave up on this plane yet?
Blazer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 07:44 PM
  #2180
LuisCastillo
 
LuisCastillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Uruapan, Michoacan, MEXICO
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hi guys! im want to make my extra to electric, but i want some sugestions for the motor, esc and battery type.. some one can help me?

Thanks!
LuisCastillo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 08:38 PM
  #2181
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Luis ... try this:

Motor - AXI 4130/16 (many tried this combo and its good for 6S), you can also look into a Hyperion 4025-12 for 5S on a 16x10 or 16x12 or the Hackers
ESC - any 80A ESC, you can try the Turnigy if you do not wish to splurge, if not get a CC85HV
Batt - Rhino 20C 6S 3,700 for good 3D performance or Rhino 5S packs for good aerobatic performance
Prop - 16x10 E
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:28 PM
  #2182
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Hey guys - for those of you still on the thread here - I ended up wrecking mine in a moment of bad judgement. Lost it in silohette on a day I was feeling sick.

Point being, I have a few parts if anyone want to pick some up.

I have a RIGHT wing in very good shape (went down on the left). I have the tail section. So if you want an extra rudder and elevator surface. I have landing gear, and canopy. Sadly, that is all

If you want to make an offer on any of it, I would be happy to sell it and have it go to use.

Figure someone might think it's a good idea to have a few extra pieces on hand for hangar rash or other.

pm me
Thanks
Tim
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:20 PM
  #2183
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Bummer. I put mine in today also. I got a little luckier. All I need is a left wing. Bent the gear too bad to straighten, but I already have the replacement gear, just have not put them on yet. Flew about 5 flights after I realized I was wore out, bad idea. So if anybody has a left wing, I would be interested.
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:54 AM
  #2184
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Yeah, I learned from it though. I had heard it suggested to keep the plane lower to the ground on my approaches so I didn't have to bleed off as much speed. I really don't have a problem with coming down and bleeding off the speed, plus it gives you the advantage of knowing what direction the plan is pointed. If it's level the whole time there is less visual indicators as to whether it's going away or coming towards.

Being sick it flipped on me visually, and I was too "off" that day to know what it was doing and it was only 15 feet or so off the ground.

well, you live and learn.

I picked up the extra from Aero-Works. Just got it 2 days ago - looks really nicely crafted. I wrecked the fliton about a month ago - so I didn't get to fly it much. FLew great. I hope this AW flies as well
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:22 AM
  #2185
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I dumb thumbed in a rolling harrier 4 foot off the ground. This plane does the best slow roll rolling harriers, except when your tired.
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 06:39 PM
  #2186
Jimeni
 
Jimeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Carrollton, OH
Posts: 1,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Here is a video, if anyone is interested. I apologize for the quality, we are still learning to make videos. This is our 3rd, we are getting a tripod. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsqfURBU9YE
Jimeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 09:22 PM
  #2187
MichaelJH
 
MichaelJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hood River , OR
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I have one for sale if anyone is interested.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/market/item.cfm?itemId=518430

MichaelJH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 06:52 AM
  #2188
redblur
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JKT, INDONESIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

is it ok if i use ASP 70 4C with this plane?
and Futaba 3001 As the servo?

Thx
redblur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:30 AM
  #2189
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I had a saito 100 on mine. It felt great, but you could probably get away with a 91 or 82. The 70 probably will not be quite enough except to just fly sport

those servos are probably too weak. I would go with a good 60oz torque at least
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:41 AM
  #2190
huminski
 
huminski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I'm running a super tigre .75 on mine, alternating between a 13x6 and a 14x4w prop. Plenty of power, will climb out of a hover, knife edge loop, etc, but requires a lot of throttle for that kind of stuff. The .70 will fly it fine unless you want to hover at 4 clicks of throttle... the .75 in mine will fly it around all day pattern style at 1/4 throttle.


I am running Hitec HS475 servos in mine. No complaints. They're cheap ( think they were about $16 each ).
huminski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:04 AM
  #2191
victorzamora
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,731
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

A .75 2-stroke has WAY more power than a .70 4-stroke.
victorzamora is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:05 AM
  #2192
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

That's a 2 stroke 75 vs a 4 70. That's a lot less power
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:51 AM
  #2193
huminski
 
huminski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Sorry I didn't notice the 4C designation. Yes, in that case, the .70 would be a bit too small I think. Sorry about that!
huminski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:21 AM
  #2194
redblur
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JKT, INDONESIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: trpastor

I had a saito 100 on mine. It felt great, but you could probably get away with a 91 or 82. The 70 probably will not be quite enough except to just fly sport

those servos are probably too weak. I would go with a good 60oz torque at least

Ok,What prop should i Use?(91 4 stroke engine)
redblur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 03:40 AM
  #2195
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Red ... try the 15x6
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 09:22 AM
  #2196
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

15x6 is what I used on my 100. It was inverted and I used an APC which is heavier and helped keep idle possibly.
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:26 AM
  #2197
ohnoucdat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , NC
Posts: 442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I have magnum 91 4ST I run a 14x6 and a 14x4, but saito 91 may be able to handle the bigger prop. I do have a 15x6 on my saito 100 on a Fliton edge, finally going to see what she'll do this Sun. Thumbs don't fail me now
ohnoucdat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 07:06 AM
  #2198
redblur
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JKT, INDONESIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

thx tianci for the reply


btw i thought 15x6 are for 70 4C [X(] , i used 15x6 on my asp 71 Lol
redblur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:41 AM
  #2199
tIANci
 
tIANci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 10,489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Red ... 70 sized 4C usually 13x6, 15x6 dah melampau la ... heheehehee ...
tIANci is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:49 AM
  #2200
redblur
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JKT, INDONESIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

hahaha

btw,does it get nose heavy or overpowered if i use 90 FS engine? is it need to get modified ?
redblur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:29 AM.